Soy-Sesame Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Super quick and easy - makes a great salad dressing (minus the hot pepper flakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made this recipe in an effort to duplicate a salad I had at my favorite Thai restaurant and it was even better than what I was trying to accomplish. I used it on lettuce salad and had everyone asking for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used this dressing on following salad. It got raves. 2 chicken breasts cooked & cut bite-size, chopped romaine lettuce, l can halved black olives, 1 can drained mandarine olives, 1/4 cut slivered almonds, l cup chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Taking into consideration the other reviews of this dressing being too salty, I reduced the soy sauce to 2T (instead of the original 6T) and use 1/2T of powdered ginger instead of fresh. I keep the other measurements the same. Not salty and with a bit of tang, this soy-sesame dressing is now a staple in our kitchen - great on meats, salads, veggies and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OMG...this is SO good!! I've made it many times, and it tastes almost exactly like the dressings I get in the Japanese restaurants I go to, minus the garlic & red pepper flakes. EXCELLENT! Once in a while, I make a substitution by using tempura sauce in place of the soy sauce; use less, however, since tempura sauce is a concentrate. Best thing to do is add it by taste. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I've used nothing but this dressing for a year-I put it on salads, vegetables, and even meats. I make a double batch and make sure I always have some in the refrig. I kind of make it a little different each time, now using balsamic vinegar instead of rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattiesmom43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Very good! I would definately make it again. The only difference I would make is add a little less garlic. If you like garlic, though, it will be fine just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good but a little too salty. Will definitely use again but maybe use less Soy Sauce, more mayo, sugar and vinegar. AND I even used lower sodium soy sauce. Otherwise....a great Asian dressing. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Like other reviewers stated, this is VERY salty & strong using the recipe. I toned the salty down by putting an extra Tbsp of sugar and mayonnaise in the mixture. It was very tasty using those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was really tasty. I put it over a salad of shredded lettuce, strips of cucumber, green and yellow pepper, onion, and chow mein noodles. I did make a change with the soy sauce. After reading the other reviews I added soy sauce to my liking which was about 2-3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States