Soy-Sesame Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good but a little too salty. Will definitely use again but maybe use less Soy Sauce, more mayo, sugar and vinegar. AND I even used lower sodium soy sauce. Otherwise....a great Asian dressing. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Like other reviewers stated, this is VERY salty & strong using the recipe. I toned the salty down by putting an extra Tbsp of sugar and mayonnaise in the mixture. It was very tasty using those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Very good! I would definately make it again. The only difference I would make is add a little less garlic. If you like garlic, though, it will be fine just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OMG...this is SO good!! I've made it many times, and it tastes almost exactly like the dressings I get in the Japanese restaurants I go to, minus the garlic & red pepper flakes. EXCELLENT! Once in a while, I make a substitution by using tempura sauce in place of the soy sauce; use less, however, since tempura sauce is a concentrate. Best thing to do is add it by taste. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Too salty and not a good flavor combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I've used nothing but this dressing for a year-I put it on salads, vegetables, and even meats. I make a double batch and make sure I always have some in the refrig. I kind of make it a little different each time, now using balsamic vinegar instead of rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattiesmom43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used this dressing on following salad. It got raves. 2 chicken breasts cooked & cut bite-size, chopped romaine lettuce, l can halved black olives, 1 can drained mandarine olives, 1/4 cut slivered almonds, l cup chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I took other reviewers suggestion of cutting down the soy sauce by 1/2. I did. Note: I also used low sodium soy sauce. Even with this adjustment it was WAY WAY too salty! Off the charts sodium alert!!!! What a disappointment. I had to add more of the other ingrediants just to compensate for the saltiness. My suggestion would be to mix everything up except the soy sauce - then add it slowly mixing & tasting along the way until you get the right balance. Plus don't forget to use Low Sodium Soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is okay, but I prefer my version...get rid of the sugar, red pepper flakes and mayonnaise. Add a 1/4 cup of Canola oil, cut the soy sauce in half and use a tsp. of sesame tahini. YUMMMY!!! Especially on fresh greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Really, really good! Yes, this was a bit salty, but I used it on a rice salad and it was perfect. Next time I will use a low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States