Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
It was ok but didn't taste anything like soy sauce! Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This worked very well for a soy-allergic person like myself. But folks are right: This stinks when you're making it. My 6-year-old, normally a very easy-going little guy, made a point to hold his noise and run away to the basement because he said it smelled so awful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I can't thank you enough for publishing this recipe. I have a soy sensitivity and have been avoiding any recipes with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My son has a soy allergy. I use this recipe weekly, and am so grateful to have found it. I have modified it to make it easier, and no one has complained. I modify the serving size until the water in the ingredients matches the amount of soy sauce I need in a recipe. I skip the beef bouillon, use brown sugar for molasses (b/c I never have molasses on hand), add salt (same amount as pepper) and add the ingredients directly to my recipe, without heating. It works for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So happy this was posted! Great Substitute! I have a nephew who is allergic to wheat and soy...works perfect for marinades! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This didn't pass my family's taste test... I wonder if it's the bouillon I used... I may try again... I was so excited after the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is perfect, I didn't change a thing!! My 9 year-old is allergic to soy - I can now make anything calling for soy sauce again! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZENSPIRIT47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
During a time when I could not have regular soy sauce this recipe was a fantastic find! It allowed me to enjoy Asian flavored food without all the sodium, soy, and wheat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Realized I was out of soy sauce in the middle of a recipe. Searched AR for a quick soy sauce recipe and came across this. PERFECT!!! Way less salty than soy sauce in a bottle too! I didn't have molasses so I used plain syrup. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've become sensitive to soy in the last couple of years and that's kept me from making a lot of the Asian recipes that I used to love! Made this tonight and it was delicious! Am going to make a big stir fry tomorrow and am really looking forward to it. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States