Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
**** For people with SOY ALLERGIES; Most bullion has MSG and balsamic vinegar has naturally occuring msg same as soy!... I get migraines and have done research. You may still be sensitive to this recipe. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Perfect! I substitute beef broth for water and omitted the bouillon- alot of organic bouillon still has allergens. I also used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic since that is what I had in the cupboard. It smells atrocious when cooking but works well as a soy sauce AND Worcheshire sauce substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was extrememly helpful when making dinner for my mom who is not to eat soy due to medication. The bullion that I used was Herb Ox Chicken bullion which was sodium free and contained no MSG. I found a lot of bulluion out there that did actually have soy or (soy derivatives) in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was great! We have used it several times and it is great in a stir-fry. After the first time, I made a few changes: I halved the molasses and added a teaspoon or two of salt. Perfect! I haven't eaten soy sauce for about eight years because of my allergies to soy and I was soooo glad when I found this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My son has a soy allergy. I use this recipe weekly, and am so grateful to have found it. I have modified it to make it easier, and no one has complained. I modify the serving size until the water in the ingredients matches the amount of soy sauce I need in a recipe. I skip the beef bouillon, use brown sugar for molasses (b/c I never have molasses on hand), add salt (same amount as pepper) and add the ingredients directly to my recipe, without heating. It works for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Organic bouillon usually doesn't contain MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I will never buy soy sauce ever again. This definitely is worth trying if you want a good soy sauce that doesn't just taste like vinegar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Thanks for the great recipe. I didnt have Soy Sauce as I was in the middle of a recipe and this tasted just like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My husband and I love eating chinese food, but when we discovered our infant son was soy protein intolerant we thought that he would never be able to share our love. Now we can not only share our love, but we can do it in a healthier way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Lookig for a recipe without MSG which is in all bouillon that I have run across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States