Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
During a time when I could not have regular soy sauce this recipe was a fantastic find! It allowed me to enjoy Asian flavored food without all the sodium, soy, and wheat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Realized I was out of soy sauce in the middle of a recipe. Searched AR for a quick soy sauce recipe and came across this. PERFECT!!! Way less salty than soy sauce in a bottle too! I didn't have molasses so I used plain syrup. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've become sensitive to soy in the last couple of years and that's kept me from making a lot of the Asian recipes that I used to love! Made this tonight and it was delicious! Am going to make a big stir fry tomorrow and am really looking forward to it. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I didn't feel like going back out to the store. This was a perfect replacement. I used normal syrup instead of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
JUST A WARNING: I would love to try this recipe. Unfortunately, every beef bouillon I saw at my local supermarket had soy protein as one of the top three ingredients. Goes to show that you can never stop reading & re-reading those labels. :-|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe!!! My son is allergic to soy so we have given up so many Thai, Teriyaki and Chinese meals - but no more!!! I used this to make a Thai noodle dish and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
As I am allergic to wheat, and my daughter is allergic to both soy AND ginger, we simply used paprika instead of ginger in this, and then chix bullion instead of beef (our beef cubes had SOY in them!), and it really turned out beautifully! Thank you so much--I made up extra & jarred it in the fridge for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I needed soy sauce for a marinade for a pork roast & I couldn't find any in my fridge. I figured I would try this. Then I realized I had no molasses. So I substituted Eden's Organic Barley Malt. It was perfect. Tasted so much like soy sauce I bottled the rest of it for future use. Thanks, Rongway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
**** For people with SOY ALLERGIES; Most bullion has MSG and balsamic vinegar has naturally occuring msg same as soy!... I get migraines and have done research. You may still be sensitive to this recipe. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Loved this, it tastes just like Soy Sauce but since I am allergic it makes cooking hard. We will be able to have so many great dishes that I haven't been able to cook in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States