Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This works ok as a sub for soy sauce but it honestly doesn't taste very much like it. It tastes too much like beef broth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I love balsamic vinegar but it's cured in grape barrels and it says "grape must" on all bottles of the stuff and, long story short, is a severe allergen to me. I'm wondering if there's a balsamic vinegar substitute out there that would go well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made this when I ran out of soy sauce and needed it for another recipe. It was so close to the taste of real soy sauce but not quite all there (which is why I give it 4 stars). Don't get me wrong though this will do the trick and wont disappoint. I am going to make it for my mom, who is on a special diet with no soy. I need to find bouillon with no msg though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Herb ox is Gluten Free and no MSG. Make 1 1/2 cups of beef Herb ox broth as substitute for beef bouillon and water as mentioned before. Excellent!!! Thanks, Rongway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
It's great to have an easy to make substitute on hand & I'm sure this is much healthier than soya sauce as it would have a lot less sodium. I definitely prefer the flavour of the real thing, but this will do the trick. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I reduced it WAY too much, but this was amazing stuff. I don't think I'll ever buy soy sauce again. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Herb Ox and Wylers make sodium free bouillon. I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you SO much!! We've known for about a year that my son has allergies to wheat, dairy, egg, beef, and pork. We finally were feeling like we had a good amount of safe recipes, and then we found out yesterday he's also allergic to rice, soy, oats, anc chicken. Ugh. I felt like I could adjust fairly easily, until I thought about soy sauce. This recipe was just what I needed! I replaced the beef boullion with vegetable boullion due to beef allergy, otherwise followed the recipe and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Thank you sooo much for posting this recipe. Store bought soy sauce has way too much sodium in it; even the reduced sodium. I use Herb Ox Sodium Free Beef Bouillon. I follow the rest of the recipe as written and am happy I can lower some of the sodium in my cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
You saved dinner. I needed soy sauce for my husband's favorite dinner tonight, but had none. I just returned home from the grocery store & soy sauce was on my receipt, but somehow not in my grocery bags or car. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States