Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Wow! This was amazing!!! I was short for a different recipe and needed this in a pinch! It was exactly what I was looking for. I actually prefer it to the store bought I was trying to matching it to (less ginger and a lil added salt and it was a perfect match!) I really think I will be replacing store bought with this! It is most definitely holy delicious!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing xoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was just right for an emergency substitution. We were very pleased with how similar the flavor of this sauce was to actual soy sauce. My son just kept saying "Wow! Wow! It tastes just like it"! I followed the recipe exactly and don't feel it needs any tweaking for our taste. I love the idea that I can make a sodium free version as well using Herb Ox's sodium free bouillon. Since most recipes call for small amounts, I froze the unused portion in ice cube trays for later use. I am adding this to my ever growing list of products I no longer need to purchase ready made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This works ok as a sub for soy sauce but it honestly doesn't taste very much like it. It tastes too much like beef broth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I love balsamic vinegar but it's cured in grape barrels and it says "grape must" on all bottles of the stuff and, long story short, is a severe allergen to me. I'm wondering if there's a balsamic vinegar substitute out there that would go well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made this when I ran out of soy sauce and needed it for another recipe. It was so close to the taste of real soy sauce but not quite all there (which is why I give it 4 stars). Don't get me wrong though this will do the trick and wont disappoint. I am going to make it for my mom, who is on a special diet with no soy. I need to find bouillon with no msg though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Herb ox is Gluten Free and no MSG. Make 1 1/2 cups of beef Herb ox broth as substitute for beef bouillon and water as mentioned before. Excellent!!! Thanks, Rongway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
It's great to have an easy to make substitute on hand & I'm sure this is much healthier than soya sauce as it would have a lot less sodium. I definitely prefer the flavour of the real thing, but this will do the trick. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I reduced it WAY too much, but this was amazing stuff. I don't think I'll ever buy soy sauce again. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Herb Ox and Wylers make sodium free bouillon. I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you SO much!! We've known for about a year that my son has allergies to wheat, dairy, egg, beef, and pork. We finally were feeling like we had a good amount of safe recipes, and then we found out yesterday he's also allergic to rice, soy, oats, anc chicken. Ugh. I felt like I could adjust fairly easily, until I thought about soy sauce. This recipe was just what I needed! I replaced the beef boullion with vegetable boullion due to beef allergy, otherwise followed the recipe and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States