Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
It's great to have an easy to make substitute on hand & I'm sure this is much healthier than soya sauce as it would have a lot less sodium. I definitely prefer the flavour of the real thing, but this will do the trick. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I reduced it WAY too much, but this was amazing stuff. I don't think I'll ever buy soy sauce again. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Herb Ox and Wylers make sodium free bouillon. I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you SO much!! We've known for about a year that my son has allergies to wheat, dairy, egg, beef, and pork. We finally were feeling like we had a good amount of safe recipes, and then we found out yesterday he's also allergic to rice, soy, oats, anc chicken. Ugh. I felt like I could adjust fairly easily, until I thought about soy sauce. This recipe was just what I needed! I replaced the beef boullion with vegetable boullion due to beef allergy, otherwise followed the recipe and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Thank you sooo much for posting this recipe. Store bought soy sauce has way too much sodium in it; even the reduced sodium. I use Herb Ox Sodium Free Beef Bouillon. I follow the rest of the recipe as written and am happy I can lower some of the sodium in my cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
You saved dinner. I needed soy sauce for my husband's favorite dinner tonight, but had none. I just returned home from the grocery store & soy sauce was on my receipt, but somehow not in my grocery bags or car. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This would be a great option if I could not eat soy sauce(Thankfully I do not have any food allergies). I did not have enough soy sauce for my recipe this worked great for what I needed. This is a great base for marinades. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the closest I could get to regular soy sauce (my wife is allergic to soy, so this was a god-send). I eliminated the bouillon and water, used home made chicken stock instead, and added salt to compensate. Next time I make it, though, I'll probably let it reduce down more to concentrate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I was a little skeptical but once I made it I LOVED it!!!! So pleased to finally find a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for the molasses and beef stock for the beef bullion because I didn't have either on hand. I used about a 1/4 cup of water. Brought all ingredients to a gentle boil. It was a nice simple sauce to accompany stir fry veggies and mahi mahi. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States