Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good flavor for being a substitute of soy sauce. I followed the recipe as stated for the original serving size, but to cut back on the sodium, I used beef broth (no sodium, no msg) and added 1 tsp of salt instead of the water plus bouillon. For my taste preference, this was a little stronger on the vinegar taste. I will cut the amount of vinegar used in half next time. I may use this recipe instead of purchasing soy sauce, tweaking to my taste preferences. If you prefer a sweeter soy sauce add more molasses or brown sugar (I'm not sure if adding more molasses would also increase the thickness of the sauce and soy sauce is supposed to be a thin liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
WAY better than soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! I've had to be gluten free for over a year, and soy free for 8 months, so far, and I miss Chinese food soooo bad. This substitute tasted just like the real deal for me and my husband. I did have to change it a little: I used 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth instead of bullion because I couldn't find a gluten and soy free version locally; raw apple cider vinegar instead of balsamic, which can be hit or miss for my body; some salt, because my beef broth had barely any; and extra garlic powder. Even with changing it up it tasted PERFECT and made an excellent stir fry! This is much cheaper than buying (that is if you can find) gluten and soy free soy sauce, as well, so it's win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Didn't have beef bouillon so I substituted vegetable bouillon and added rice vinegar. Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li'l Bit's Craft Corner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
doesn't really taste like soy sauce, but seems to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this tonight and I didn't have soy sauce so I just used 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar instead and it came out excellent. I will definitely be making this again it tastes amazing! I used Udon and Soba noodles and added chicken, broccoli, onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Just a comment here about the MSG. Kitchen Basics brand (comes in a box, not a can)doesn't have MSG & is gluten free; there is also a salt free version of this, but it's becoming difficult to find. Swansaon (again, comes in a box) doesn't use MSG. Herb Ox & Wylers also are MSG free & these may be more practical to use, as one doesn't have to open up a big box. One reviewer says that she freezes the leftovers in an ice cube tray. If you can't find any of these at your grocers, ask the manager to order it for you. Most grocers are willing to accomodate you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My boyfriend has a minor soy allergy, so I made this for him. I used vegetarian bouillon instead, tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Gaaaaack!!!! I have tremendous respect for the chef who created this, because he/she went much farther than I ever could have. No doubt. I could not have done this. However, this tastes nothing like soy sauce. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar91745

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Thanks bunches! You saved the day when I couldn't find any soy sauce and needed it to be GF! This was the bomb. Couldn't tell the difference. At the dinner table, I added brown sugar and reduced it and it made a delicious sauce to pour over rice and veggies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States