Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! I've had to be gluten free for over a year, and soy free for 8 months, so far, and I miss Chinese food soooo bad. This substitute tasted just like the real deal for me and my husband. I did have to change it a little: I used 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth instead of bullion because I couldn't find a gluten and soy free version locally; raw apple cider vinegar instead of balsamic, which can be hit or miss for my body; some salt, because my beef broth had barely any; and extra garlic powder. Even with changing it up it tasted PERFECT and made an excellent stir fry! This is much cheaper than buying (that is if you can find) gluten and soy free soy sauce, as well, so it's win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Didn't have beef bouillon so I substituted vegetable bouillon and added rice vinegar. Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li'l Bit's Craft Corner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
doesn't really taste like soy sauce, but seems to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this tonight and I didn't have soy sauce so I just used 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar instead and it came out excellent. I will definitely be making this again it tastes amazing! I used Udon and Soba noodles and added chicken, broccoli, onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Just a comment here about the MSG. Kitchen Basics brand (comes in a box, not a can)doesn't have MSG & is gluten free; there is also a salt free version of this, but it's becoming difficult to find. Swansaon (again, comes in a box) doesn't use MSG. Herb Ox & Wylers also are MSG free & these may be more practical to use, as one doesn't have to open up a big box. One reviewer says that she freezes the leftovers in an ice cube tray. If you can't find any of these at your grocers, ask the manager to order it for you. Most grocers are willing to accomodate you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My boyfriend has a minor soy allergy, so I made this for him. I used vegetarian bouillon instead, tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Gaaaaack!!!! I have tremendous respect for the chef who created this, because he/she went much farther than I ever could have. No doubt. I could not have done this. However, this tastes nothing like soy sauce. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar91745

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Thanks bunches! You saved the day when I couldn't find any soy sauce and needed it to be GF! This was the bomb. Couldn't tell the difference. At the dinner table, I added brown sugar and reduced it and it made a delicious sauce to pour over rice and veggies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Wow! This was amazing!!! I was short for a different recipe and needed this in a pinch! It was exactly what I was looking for. I actually prefer it to the store bought I was trying to matching it to (less ginger and a lil added salt and it was a perfect match!) I really think I will be replacing store bought with this! It is most definitely holy delicious!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing xoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was just right for an emergency substitution. We were very pleased with how similar the flavor of this sauce was to actual soy sauce. My son just kept saying "Wow! Wow! It tastes just like it"! I followed the recipe exactly and don't feel it needs any tweaking for our taste. I love the idea that I can make a sodium free version as well using Herb Ox's sodium free bouillon. Since most recipes call for small amounts, I froze the unused portion in ice cube trays for later use. I am adding this to my ever growing list of products I no longer need to purchase ready made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States