Soy Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I halved recipe and used rice vinegar instead of sugar. I added 4 small sweet pepoers sliced & 4 sliced mushrooms last 5 minutes of cooking. Super tasty but only gave 3 stars vs. 4 because I didn't use the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This was really good and it made the chicken really tender. We used boneless thighs but it was delicious. I think next time I'll use snap peas and some sautéed veggies, all in the sauce, over a bed of rice (very Asian in flavor). Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This sounds really good, but is the nutrition that is listed below correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah_jean_24
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Love it. And using 1/2 the amount of garlic and ginger makes it taste a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The ginger/garlic combo was tasty, but the sauce was a bit too salty for us. I added some lightly steamed broccoli to the chicken and sauce and cooked it for ten minutes in the sauce, which never thickened. The broccoli was fantastic! I will make this again, perhaps with a bit less soy sauce or a lighter soy sauce. I like that it has an oriental flavor without having to buy exotic (infrequently used in our home) ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Pretty and very quick. I cook mine in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I did try this recipe and I am thankful for its speediness on a busy weeknight when I don't have anything planned. The recipe turned out good and I will share this with other people I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERCOOP7105

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Really liked this for a simple, simple, make that super simple week night meal! Great with sticky rice and some eggdrop soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by CaliAngel
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My family loved this dish. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added an additional cup of water, used 1/2 cup sugar and added green onions to the stock while it was cooking and also sprinkled green onions on the finished dish. Used the conversion for portion size on the site as the original recipe would have been way too much for a family of four. Luckily I had a fresh ginger root!! I was a wee bit nervous with using the amount the recipe called for but oh so glad I did! This one will be in the rotation for years to come. Try it you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs and cut the original recipe in half using 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup sugar, etc. Also added about 3/4 cup more water to cover thighs. Instead of fresh ginger, I used sushi ginger and chopped it up real small and it worked good. Did not leave on boil the whole cook time as recipe says. I brought to boil for 5 mins, covered and simmered for 20 mins then boiled uncovered for remaining 5 hoping sauce would thicken but it didn't. You could use cornstarch for this if you like or bring to boil and then simmer uncovered for sauce to thicken. Also added green onions to sauce while boiling as well to the finished product. Chicken came out slightly overcooked, little dry, good thing for the sauce! May want to reduce cook time. Served over basmati, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States