Soy Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CaliAngel
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My family loved this dish. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added an additional cup of water, used 1/2 cup sugar and added green onions to the stock while it was cooking and also sprinkled green onions on the finished dish. Used the conversion for portion size on the site as the original recipe would have been way too much for a family of four. Luckily I had a fresh ginger root!! I was a wee bit nervous with using the amount the recipe called for but oh so glad I did! This one will be in the rotation for years to come. Try it you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs and cut the original recipe in half using 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup sugar, etc. Also added about 3/4 cup more water to cover thighs. Instead of fresh ginger, I used sushi ginger and chopped it up real small and it worked good. Did not leave on boil the whole cook time as recipe says. I brought to boil for 5 mins, covered and simmered for 20 mins then boiled uncovered for remaining 5 hoping sauce would thicken but it didn't. You could use cornstarch for this if you like or bring to boil and then simmer uncovered for sauce to thicken. Also added green onions to sauce while boiling as well to the finished product. Chicken came out slightly overcooked, little dry, good thing for the sauce! May want to reduce cook time. Served over basmati, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Very good but not outstanding ! Would wish the sauce to thicken a little (from the sugar) but it stays running just like an average soja sauce - it makes a lot of sauce ! Followed exactly the recipe but for the garlic that we don't like, so added a little more ginger to compensate. Very easy and quickly done so I'll keep it though .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Tried this recipe with chicken breasts--the taste was great, especially with extra green onions however the texture was a bit dry. Next time I'm trying thigh fillets or maybe tofu?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was the best chicken I have ever made. Great recipe, I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kami_W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious. I hate chicken thighs, but this recipe made them delicious. We had potstickers as a side and used the extra sauce to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this recipe is pretty good, there was only two of us so i used 1 pound of chicken breast tenderloins, only 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of water lots of green onions and garlic and i forgot to get the ginger and it was still good, I made this one other time and it was to much sugar for me but my boyfriend liked it. I used a lot less this time and he still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Love this recipe. Changed some things: skinned the chicken, didn't use any ginger or green onions. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and it came out DELICIOUS--the best teryaki flavor--and the chicken was perfectly cooked. Will try this recipe again when I have ginger and green onions on hand, but just so everyone knows--this recipe works great without those ingredients too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! My family has been making this for years with two small changes: UP the amount of water to 2 cups (rather than 1), and change the sugar to 3/4 cup each of white & brown sugar. I also use powdered ginger (1 TB) and it works out great, but I'm sure fresh is even better! I highly recommend this, its SO easy and goes wonderful with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I used boneless chicken thighs, added a bit of cayenne for some spice. Quick and easy and delicious. Got a good ginger taste from it. Served with steamed broccoli and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States