Soy Milk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I just made these pancakes! They were very fluffy and as another person said, bland. However, I like my pancakes a little on the bland side. I did use whole wheat flour instead and added some cinnamon as well. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were good but I probably wouldn't make them again. I used vanilla flavored almond milk instead of soy milk and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Suggested variation: Curdle the soy milk with juice of half of a lemon: this will make it like buttermilk and give it the acidity to make the baking soda fizz. Given the lemon juice, the baking powder is not necessary (cream of tartar is what gives the acidity to activate the soda, but it also has an unpleasing flavor). Instead, just use one 1 tsp baking soda. I used half all-purpose flour and half buckwheat flour, reducing the total to about 3/4 c. instead of 1 c. This made very spongey pancakes. I may increase increase the soy milk and/or reduce the baking soda a little next time to have stretchier pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Perfect pancakes! I left out the baking soda like one of the reviewers suggested and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Have made these twice in the past week, using unsweetened natural flavor almond milk. Both times I skipped on the oil. First batch I used AP flour, 1 tsp vanilla, and also added 1 medium mashed banana with chopped walnuts. Second time, I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 AP flour, and used vanilla/almond extracts per recipe. All my pancakes can out with a nice light, fluffy, and smooth texture. Rated 4 stars b/c though they are a good simple recipe, they are a little on the bland side. And just a tip-as with any pancakes-I do find the fluffyness is effected by how u are mixing the dry ingredients with the liquids. Do not overmix-combine until just moistened, and it will usually have some small bubbles in the mixure once it sets for a few minutes-do not mix these out-this is what will add in a light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Wonderful! Will make again and again, as I more often than not have soy milk on hand rather than regular milk, and the pancakes came out great. The only change I made was to use 1 tsp vanilla extract, and no almond extract (as I had none), and also to add 1/2 tsp cinnamon into the dry mix. Next time, I'll make this with WW flour and/or blueberries as I'm sure it'll taste great with those subs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Used half WW flour and half AP flour. Regular soy milk. Used chia gel (1 TBsp. chia seed + 1/4 cup water- let sit at least 30 mins. to achieve gel-like consistency) instead of the egg as I am avoiding eggs because of a potential intolerance. Full tsp. of vanilla extract, skipped the almond extract. Dense, but good. Will use only AP flour next time and try bananas as an egg replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good! I didn't have almond extract, so I used 1/2 tsp coconut extract. (I love all things coconut.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very good! I added macadamia nuts to add a little more body/flavor and whole wheat flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannyyamamotojr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Pretty good. Instead of egg I used 1T flax seed mixed w/3T water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States