Soy Ginger Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is tasty recipe, but broiling this salmon doesn't do it any justice. The marinade is just too good. If you really want to get the most taste out of the salmon, try pan frying it after marinating with a little olive oil, searing both sides and locking in the juices, then save the left over marinade, add 1 tbsp corn starch, and heat until thick. It will make a great sauce that you can just lightly spread on top of the salmon. I tried this with my second attempt and my wife and I liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This was GOOD!!! I changed a few things to suit our tastes - used 1/2 the amount of soy and brown sugar, used the juice of one lemon and ground black pepper instead of lemon pepper, and 3 cloves of crushed garlic instead of garlic powder. After marinating the salmon overnight in a baking dish, I put the whole dish with all the marinade in the oven and baked for 20 minutes. I took the skin off at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this salmon for a special New Year's Eve dinner. It was fabulous!! I agree with a previous poster, it is a $20 entree in a medium size city but I would add, a $30 entree in a big city. Since I have a 7 yr old and an 8 yr old and a 1 yr old eating this too, I was apprehensive about the amount of lemon pepper. I had doubled the recipe for the marinade because I was using 2 lbs of salmon, but I only used 2 tsp of lemon pepper instead of 4. It was not too peppery at all. Next, I must admit I was skeptical about thickening the marinade and cooking it and pouring it over the top like some reviewers recommended. I had always heard you should promptly discard your marinade. But I figured I was cooking the marinade so any bacteria would be killed so why not give it a try. Well, I am glad I did....it was awesome. So elegant, it would be such a waste to forgo a step that would only take 5 extra minutes. Everyone loved it and couldn't stop saying thanks Mom, its great! My 8 yr old requested this every New Year's Eve...I think we will have it again way before that : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Follow the recipe as is....just bake instead of boil - 350 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes depending on the thickness of the salmon. I have made this 3 times and my family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I would definitely suggest doubling the marinade though. I made just two servings with the enough marinade for four. I marinaded overnight and took earlier suggestions to make the remaining into a sauce for the fish. It was perfect. I added a little over a tablespoon of cornstarch and made sure to boil the mix for a few minutes (stirring constantly) just in case any bacteria still existed. This was my first time broiling and it couldn't have turned out better. The timing is incredibly accurate. I served it with Scoopnana's Sesame Noodles and Josie's Asian Avocado. The extra sauce was also good over the noodles. The meal was altogether fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
absolutely delicious! These were my modifications: no lemon pepper or garlic powder so used lemon zest and minced fresh garlic; only had regular soy sauce so reduced it to 1/4 cup and upped the OJ to almost 1/2 cup. The fish turned out very well flavoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was fabulous- we used real garlic and made a sauce from the marinade with cornstarch. Cook the marinade down a bit and then add a little cornstarch- this is wonderful poured on top of the salmon. We had jasmine rice and steamed asparagus on the side and everyone ate tons of it- be sure to have plenty of salmon on hand! We doubled this recipe to accommodate 2.5 lbs of salmon. This recipe will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pepperlover123
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I used the ingredients as stated, but only had time to marinate for 1 hour. I did baste with the sauce as i broiled the salmon, and the flavour was wonderful. I sprinkled some sesame seeds on before serving, to made it look more appealing. There were no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepperlover123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was ok. I would not be in a rush to make this again & I am always on the look out for good salmon recipes. I thought that it was good but not great. I perfer the Firecracker Salmon Recipe from this site which is similar to this but more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is delicious. The salmon came out so moist and flavorful. Instead of broiling it, I baked the salmon, with the marinade poured over top, at 400 for about 15 minutes. I served the salmon and sauce over thin rice noodles and veggies with sliced green onions on top. The only change I made to the marinade was to use fresh minced garlic. I also didn't bother to rub the sugar and seasons onto the salmon, I just threw it all in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States