Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Excellent.I served it with my own recipe for tzatziki sauce... 1/2 container sour cream 1/4 cucumber, shredded and drained 3 cloves garlic, shredded 1 teaspoon dill weed salt to taste Mix, then let sit for an hour and then mix again...very garlicy and yummy...I used it on everything (hamburgers as a topping, dipping sauce, wraps, etc) You will ove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
As luck would have it, my grill ran out of gas right when I was about to prepare this dish. So, a lucky accident occurred thats worth another try! I dumped the entire thing, marinade and all, into a deep, stainless saute pan and sauted everything. I lidded the mixture for the first 3/4 of the cooking time (to ensure that the meat was cooked and the veggies soft). Following this, I increased the heat and removed the lid, thus boiling and thickening the remaining juices. The result was delicious! What was originally the marinade became a thick delicious sauce. The pork was ridiculously tender, and the greek flavor was prevalent throughout. The only thing I will be careful about next time is saltiness. I added the soy, as directed, but then also seasoned the dish and mine came out just a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish! I made it a little differently because we don't have a grill... I marinated pork chops & veggies for about 3 hours and then baked them in the marinade at 325 F. Once they were finished baking, I removed the chops & veggies and thickened the marinade with a little cream and flour until I had a nice sauce. Excellent flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This recipe is AWESOME! We also served it on warm pita bread with cucumber sauce, called Tzatziki sauce on this website and submitted by Dinah, but I added 1/4 c. of mayo to keep it thicker. It turned out wonderful. I also topped the sandwiches with diced tomatoes. I used 2 lbs. of pork tenderloin (Hormel Always Tender brand) instead of 4 and it made five skewers of meet! And I even ommitted the green peppers. This was plenty for sandwiches. I still made the same amount of marinade and I'm glad I did. The marinade doesn't make that much and it was perfect for two pounds. I added a Greek seasoning, found in supermarkets, to both the marinade and the sauce instead of salt and pepper. Can't remember the name but it's in a yellow with red shaker container. It's a staple in our house. Thanks Abby for a real "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
So there is no soya sauce in traditional souvlaki but this is still a great recipe. If you want the real thing omit the soy sauce. Very simple. There is nothing wrong with adding the soya if you like it. Maybe not authentic but still very good. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My husband and his friend went NUTS over this. DH practically ran back to the kitchen for seconds! The only thing I did differently was I didn't skewer it; just tossed it in a baking dish and baked at 400 for 25 minutes. I served this over rice. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PPERRY0501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
EXCELLENT!! This is so flavorful, and leaves the pork so tender! I can't believe how easy it is! And this is a very versatile recipe - I have made it with pork, chicken, and beef, and all are great. I have also made it on kabobs on the grill, or as a one-dish entree (stirring the marinaded meat, peppers & onions together and baking in one pan). And you can serve with rice, or in a pita and cucumber sauce. Best part is, nearly everyone likes it - even my kids (5 and 3), who don't like much!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe! I marinated two pounds of cubed pork tenderloin for about 8 hours and it was so tender. We skewered the meat separate from the onions and peppers because they don't cook at the same rate. I served this with Tzatziki II, white rice, and Good for you Greek Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I have never had Souvlaki but it looked good and had so many rave reviews I had to try it. I am so glad I did - we were out of charcoal so I made it on the stove. It was wonderful. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and had sooo much flavor.I marinated the meat for 4-5 hours. When I started slowly browning the meat I put the red & yellow pepper and onion in the marinade for about 10 minutes. Then added that to the meat and let it simmer on the stove covered. It was Delicious !!!!!!! Leftovers the next day were really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I tell you what, I know very well that soy sauce is not a traditional ingredient in anything Greek, and I don't need any hopped up foodies screaming authenticity in my ear. I LOVE this recipe. It is absolutely delicious. I do use low sodium soy, so maybe others find it too salty if they don't. That's well and good. Have some common sense and taste your marinade before you add any meat! If it tastes salty, add more lemon juice and oil. Problem solved, my friends. I marinate red peppers and red onions right in with this. The marinade makes for a lovely caramelization, and this goes splendidly with Tzatziki Sauce I. I serve this on pita with cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, tzatziki and feta cheese. Mmmm. Can't go wrong. This also works well with chicken. Please don't listen to the nay-sayers. It really is delicious. Would I lead you astray? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States