Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
we absolutely loved this recipe! have been trying to experience different cultures as of late and we decided to go Greek this time, and this recipe captured our attention. Was AWESOME! My husband was the one that made it and he did say that if I reviewed it to mention that he did double the marinade - that he didn't feel that it was enough as the recipe called for, but that was his only negative comment, if you can even call that negative :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Brilliant! I have made this now several times as presented in the recipe, as suggested by reviewers, and with a little monkeying of my own. I am so very pleased to opine that there is just no way to improve on this skillful base recipe (Well, maybe the feta cheese when it is served over rice). Recipes like this just come along so infrequently that I could not help to comment just to say thanks to the submitter. Thank you Ms. Benner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC. This recipe is fabulous! I used chicken instead of pork, omitting the onions & peppers and pan-fried it instead of skewering. I did 4 chicken breasts, but only 2 made it to the table as we kept 'trying' pieces. Served with a salad and rice. Have now made this recipe 10 times. Love it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YRYKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did not grill this but I definitely like the flavours of the marinade. It is subtle but not bland. Very easy on the palate and delightful indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Nice marinade that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very tasty. I served it with some tzatziki sauce on the side, Greek potatoes and a salad. It was a huge hit even with my 6 year old. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I did chicken instead of pork, and then accidentally subbed oregano with sweet basil instead (oops)..still good! Also, baked in oven at 350* covered with Al for about 15-20min ..didn't bother with skewers. Came out tender, juicy, and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Delicious! Tender! Do make double the sauce. I cooked mine in a mesh pan made for grilling...saves a lot of time skewering! Next time i will add more veggies, but keep everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Mead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I make this at least 1-2 per month and my family LOVES it! I tend to double the recipe though, so I have enough to use as a basting sauce throughout the cooking process! Wonderful and VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMINIQUE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made EXACTLY as written. Nice, not outstanding, but nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States