Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I loved these. Marinated the meat in one bag and veggies in the other all day. Skewered right before grilling. Very good flavor. I used low sodium soy as I always do so we didn't find then too salty as others had mentioned. Also, used orange and red peppers as that is what I had on hand. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Ok, like others, Soy Sauce isnt Greek, but who cares when the marinade is so good? I used this on mushrooms, pork, chicken, peppers and shallots. It was "rock my world" good. One recommendation: definitely allow enough time to marinate. If you only allow a short time, I have found that the flavors from the marinade are weak. I recommend overnight or at least 6 hours. I also use low sodium soy sauce, so maybe this is the reason, but regardless, try this and I know you will not be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I tell you what, I know very well that soy sauce is not a traditional ingredient in anything Greek, and I don't need any hopped up foodies screaming authenticity in my ear. I LOVE this recipe. It is absolutely delicious. I do use low sodium soy, so maybe others find it too salty if they don't. That's well and good. Have some common sense and taste your marinade before you add any meat! If it tastes salty, add more lemon juice and oil. Problem solved, my friends. I marinate red peppers and red onions right in with this. The marinade makes for a lovely caramelization, and this goes splendidly with Tzatziki Sauce I. I serve this on pita with cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, tzatziki and feta cheese. Mmmm. Can't go wrong. This also works well with chicken. Please don't listen to the nay-sayers. It really is delicious. Would I lead you astray? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
So there is no soya sauce in traditional souvlaki but this is still a great recipe. If you want the real thing omit the soy sauce. Very simple. There is nothing wrong with adding the soya if you like it. Maybe not authentic but still very good. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I realize that soy sauce is not a traditional Greek ingredient, but that fact cannot take away from how TASTY this is. No need to change a thing. I served it with some rice and tahini/yogurt sauce. Seems like a very versatile recipe that could be used in gyros and with many different kinds of meat. Might try this with lamb soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I've meant to comment on this recipe before I found it last summer and make it quite often. Just delicious. We love it. I follow the recipe to the tee except I add more onion. I like the flavor the have after marinating and then grilling. A great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe, I would definitely try this one again. I made a few changes though. I used 4 lemons instead of 1. I add a couple of tablespoons of greek spice/seasoning. I an added a small diced onion & diced green pepper to the marinade. I added about half a cup of Parmeasan Cheese to the marinade. I didn't add the soya sauce. Instead of the BBQ, I poured the pork & marinade into a pot & boiled everything for about an hour. I strained the pork out (I wasn't a big fan of the marinade as a sauce) & added it to some fettucini. Overall, this recipe was good & has a lot of potential for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this last night exactly as written and it was fantastic. I cooked the pork, pepper, and onions in a stir-fry basket on the grill since I didn't have any skewers and it turned out moist and tender. Served on warm pitas with tzaziki sauce, accompanied by white rice and a Greek salad. Very very easy and tasty, will definitely become a summer staple in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very traditional recipe, except Greeks don't use soy sauce. This is an old family recipe used and eaten with great pride, success & Tzatziki sauce (but don't use soy sauce.) You can also use pork and barbeque some potato slices in olive oil for a great side dish. Of course don't forget the bread. Opah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was so delicious! I didn't have that much time so I only marinated them for about half an hour. I'm sure they'd be better left longer, but don't be discouraged if you don't have the time. They still came out great. I couldn't grill them, I was about to put them in the stove, when I decided to try them on the griddle. They came out great and I paired them with the greek potatoes recipe, which is also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States