Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I left out the soy sauce as someone else mentioned. This is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
There is a very important point left out in this recipe. If you are using wooden skewers, soak them for 1 hour in water, this prevents the wood from burning on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made this tonight for my 5 year old and my Fiance who is from Greece. I'm just beginning to like greek food and felt this was the safest one to try to make myself. Despite the remark from the previous poster the soy sauce added enough of a flaver to keep it from being too dry like i've had Souvlaki in the past. My Fiance really liked it and was very impressed even my 5 year old who hardly eats a thing cleared his plate so thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Although there are 500+ ratings of this insane recipe already, I'm adding my rave review because I think this is my favorite dish of the whole summer!! I thought the pork would be dry and tough (like it always seems to turn out for me) but it was beautifully tender from the grill! I followed our Greek reviewer on here and opted out of using the soy sauce. I splashed a little red wine vinegar in instead. MY FAVORITE!!!! Thank you Abby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very Good! My boyfriend LOVES Greek Food and requested that I make this once a week :) I served it with grilled pita, tzatziki and a big Greek salad. I crave this meal now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Excellent!!! I've made this recipe several times now and it always comes out great. I throw everything into marinate that morning and then it's a quick easy fix that night. We love ours with the Tzatziki Sauce II and grilled pita bread. Just brush your pita with a little olive oil and toss it on the grill until nice and warm. Add a salad and you have a wonderful, healthy meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a hit in my house! I made double the recipe so I could freeze it for quick meals during the school year, not knowing if we would even like it or not. My daughter, who is a very fussy eater gobbled it up. I left mine in the fridge overnight marinating and it was extremely tender. Served it with grilled pita bread, tzatiki and salad. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was absolutely delish !! My husband thought I bought them from the market. The flavour was wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing....and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Tastes like the stuff you get in Greece- even with the soy sauce! I used a lot more lemon garlic and oregano though. I also used pork shoulder instead of tenderloin- not as dry and has more flavor. Best when served with white rice and cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I first tried this recipe when I was looking for something to do with a pork loin - i grew up jewish and we never cooked pork! I tried this for something different and my husband devoured it like i'd never seen . . . he finally stopped eating long enough to tell me that he used to go to a little hole-in-the-wall place in canada, almost weekly, just to order their souvlaki, and this tasted EXACTLY like it! For a long time, my youngest got excited whenever he saw the 'meat on a stick', and actually called it 'yummy meat'. Due to allergies, I have reworked this to use chicken and leave out the garlic, and we still love it - thanks! (but we do sub half the soy w more lemon, to reduce the salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States