Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very Good! My boyfriend LOVES Greek Food and requested that I make this once a week :) I served it with grilled pita, tzatziki and a big Greek salad. I crave this meal now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Excellent!!! I've made this recipe several times now and it always comes out great. I throw everything into marinate that morning and then it's a quick easy fix that night. We love ours with the Tzatziki Sauce II and grilled pita bread. Just brush your pita with a little olive oil and toss it on the grill until nice and warm. Add a salad and you have a wonderful, healthy meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a hit in my house! I made double the recipe so I could freeze it for quick meals during the school year, not knowing if we would even like it or not. My daughter, who is a very fussy eater gobbled it up. I left mine in the fridge overnight marinating and it was extremely tender. Served it with grilled pita bread, tzatiki and salad. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was absolutely delish !! My husband thought I bought them from the market. The flavour was wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing....and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Tastes like the stuff you get in Greece- even with the soy sauce! I used a lot more lemon garlic and oregano though. I also used pork shoulder instead of tenderloin- not as dry and has more flavor. Best when served with white rice and cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I first tried this recipe when I was looking for something to do with a pork loin - i grew up jewish and we never cooked pork! I tried this for something different and my husband devoured it like i'd never seen . . . he finally stopped eating long enough to tell me that he used to go to a little hole-in-the-wall place in canada, almost weekly, just to order their souvlaki, and this tasted EXACTLY like it! For a long time, my youngest got excited whenever he saw the 'meat on a stick', and actually called it 'yummy meat'. Due to allergies, I have reworked this to use chicken and leave out the garlic, and we still love it - thanks! (but we do sub half the soy w more lemon, to reduce the salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Amazing taste...I did all the prep the night before including marinating the meat. I just skewered and threw on the bbq. I prepared Tzatziki sauce to go with it....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was really good! I used red onion, pork tenderloin and red pepper and let it all marinade for about 4 hours. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I couldn't give a rat's whether these are authentic or not. All I know is that they tasted GREAT. I added a teaspoon of white sugar to the marinade and I used both chicken and pork - it was very good with a couscous salad (couscous, chopped feta, chopped tomato, chopped cucumber, olive oil and maggi). Thanks for an easy recipe, I'm going to use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm not even going to comment on the soy sauce in this recipe, the fact of the matter is this marinade is delicious. I used pork tenderloin, but chicken would work just as well for a change of pace. My only change after tasting the sauce was to add a couple of teaspoons of white sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 141-150 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States