Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So good! I used chicken thighs instead of pork and it came out so good. The smell of this grilling was making my mouth water. I too served it with a tsatiki sauce. Next time I'm going to make sure I have pita bread on hand as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've used this recipe numerous times...should have reviewed it before now. First time, I made as written and it was great. Second time, I doubled the lemon and garlic and added a bit more soy. Either way, delicious! Along with the pork, I skewered onions, bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, lemon quarters and mushrooms. Marinating 3-4 hours does the trick for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My husband made this in the oven and it was delish!! He seared the meat, then put it in a pan, poured in the liquid mixture and put the peppers and onions on top of the meat, covered it with foil and cooked it at 350 degrees for the first hour, then 250 degrees for 2 more hours. Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this with chicken and while it was good it wasn't the souvlaki I'm used to. I marinated this overnight and it still wasn't as garlicky as I'd like. I would at least double the garlic and increase the oregano to achieve the flavor of souvlaki at greek restaurant's I've been to. I didn't skewer this either; had my hubby just basket grill on the barbeque. Veggies were delish but still missed strong flavor in the meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipes never fails to please. I recently did a vegan version for a potluck and subbed the pork for eggplant. This marinade is great with pork, chicken, beef, lamb, tofu or just veggies. I've tried all variations and they all came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It was easy enough to make but it is something that definitely needs to be grilled because baking it doesn't taste quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
LOved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Loved this! It tasted almost exactly like the souvlaki we get at our local Greek place. Be sure to add a little paprika for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
it was ok, i thought it would be a lil more exotic. we'll probably make it again. i made enough marinade for the vegetables & pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Like this recipe. Next time I won't BBQ it in the dark and burn it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States