Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe, I would definitely try this one again. I made a few changes though. I used 4 lemons instead of 1. I add a couple of tablespoons of greek spice/seasoning. I an added a small diced onion & diced green pepper to the marinade. I added about half a cup of Parmeasan Cheese to the marinade. I didn't add the soya sauce. Instead of the BBQ, I poured the pork & marinade into a pot & boiled everything for about an hour. I strained the pork out (I wasn't a big fan of the marinade as a sauce) & added it to some fettucini. Overall, this recipe was good & has a lot of potential for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this last night exactly as written and it was fantastic. I cooked the pork, pepper, and onions in a stir-fry basket on the grill since I didn't have any skewers and it turned out moist and tender. Served on warm pitas with tzaziki sauce, accompanied by white rice and a Greek salad. Very very easy and tasty, will definitely become a summer staple in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very traditional recipe, except Greeks don't use soy sauce. This is an old family recipe used and eaten with great pride, success & Tzatziki sauce (but don't use soy sauce.) You can also use pork and barbeque some potato slices in olive oil for a great side dish. Of course don't forget the bread. Opah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was so delicious! I didn't have that much time so I only marinated them for about half an hour. I'm sure they'd be better left longer, but don't be discouraged if you don't have the time. They still came out great. I couldn't grill them, I was about to put them in the stove, when I decided to try them on the griddle. They came out great and I paired them with the greek potatoes recipe, which is also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I only made 1/2 the recipe. Also, I broiled them for 15 minutes since it was raining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
So, so good. We have had this a number of times now. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is a really delicious recipe. We loved it and I will definitely make it again. The only change I made was to leave out the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for my wife and I last week and it tasted exactly how I was hoping it would. I tried using balsamic vinegar instead of the soy sauce though for a more Mediterranean taste. It was though we ate at a Greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
DELICIOUS! I will make this over and over again. I followed the recipe for the marinade to the letter, and it was amazing. The soy sauce is barely noticeable. It just adds a bit of saltiness. I broiled these in the oven for about 10-15 minutes and served it with Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce found on this site. Incredible combo. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was very tasty! I only give it three stars because its not very authentic (soy sauce was very dominant not something I associate with greek food) but dont get me wrong it is DELICIOUS and it comes out juicy and tender and the marinade is great. I did notice that you need a longer cooking time than 8 or 10 minutes. But that may be due to the fact that I cut my cubes a little bigger. Also after getting home from the store I noticed I didn't have any skewers, so I just popped the meat on the grill and sauteed the green peppers and onions. overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States