Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was amazing. Loved it and my whole family loved it. This recipe will stay in my family for a very long time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Sorry, not for us. Perhaps I've been spoiled. I was fortunate enough to go to Greece, plus live in a community state side that had numerous Greece restaurants ran by Greeks. This isn't what Souvlaki tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was delicious! The pork tasted great. I didn't have enough time to marinate the meat as long as I wanted to but even so the flavor was amazing. BF wasn't too sure about Greek night but he ended up asking for more!! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great recipe, I've only used it with turkey breasts and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I took a pork roast and cut it into strips then marinated as per the recipe. (only had about two hours to marinate) I did not skewer but rather laid the strips on the barbeque and flipped them after a couple of minutes. There was my husband and I for supper as well as our son-in-law and 2 granddaughter, 10 months and 2 1/2. The youngest eats anything and this was not an exception however the two year old did not want to eat it. We told her she had to eat two of the pieces that were cut up on her plate - not only did she eat these but finished up the rest! My husband and son-in-law also enjoyed it. The pork was very tender and oh so flavorful. A real keeper. Thanks for a great, easy meal. Served with Oven Roasted Greek Potatoes - recipe from this site. Great combo that use many of the same ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The recipe is straight out FABULOUS!! I never even thought about trying to cook Greek food but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! My mom even mentioned that it tasted like it came from a Greek restaurant! The only difference was I didn't have any skewers so I just grilled the chicken in pieces on the grill. Superb recipe! Definately recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I left out the soy sauce as someone else mentioned. This is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
There is a very important point left out in this recipe. If you are using wooden skewers, soak them for 1 hour in water, this prevents the wood from burning on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made this tonight for my 5 year old and my Fiance who is from Greece. I'm just beginning to like greek food and felt this was the safest one to try to make myself. Despite the remark from the previous poster the soy sauce added enough of a flaver to keep it from being too dry like i've had Souvlaki in the past. My Fiance really liked it and was very impressed even my 5 year old who hardly eats a thing cleared his plate so thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Although there are 500+ ratings of this insane recipe already, I'm adding my rave review because I think this is my favorite dish of the whole summer!! I thought the pork would be dry and tough (like it always seems to turn out for me) but it was beautifully tender from the grill! I followed our Greek reviewer on here and opted out of using the soy sauce. I splashed a little red wine vinegar in instead. MY FAVORITE!!!! Thank you Abby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States