Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is a full-proof recipe. I started late, got the marinade and vegetables prepared, then realized the meat was still frozen. I cut the meat up into 1-2" pieces, then finished defrosting them in the crock pot, along with the marinade and veggies. After an hour or so, I put everything in a glass roasting pan and baked it, as others suggested, at 425 degrees for 25 minutes. I then broiled it for 5 minutes or so. My cooking reputation is not good, and after what I considered a fiasco, I was very surprised that the meat still turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Amazing recipe, I marinated overnight, the red peppers were delicious...like candy, have already made this a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I wasn't sure about the soya sauce in a Greek recipe, so since I was making both chicken and pork anyway, I did add the soya sauce to the chicken but not to the pork. The family consensus was that the chicken tasted better. It did not have a soya sauce taste at all, but the flavour was very good. But I want to be clear, the pork was still very good. I had extra meat after making skewers so I baked it, covered for 45 min. I'll report on how it is next day, tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I used yellow & red bell peppers instead of green due to personal taste, but, other than that prepared exactly as the recipe stated. The pork was perfectly tender and had a lot of flavor. I served on Mediterranean pita bread with Tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I did what other reviewers have suggested and just poured the whole bowl of meat and marinade into a pan and baked it. The flavor was good - I think next time I'll marinade longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We use this marinade all the time for Greek chicken pitas ~ fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used apple cider vinegar (1/4 cup) in place of the lemon and it was perfect. Served it over rice with a fresh garden tomato and tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. It's easy to make and delicious. I bake this in the oven, and serve it with the recipe "Tzatziki I". Thank you for sharing, Abby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karib

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I prepared this recipe without the soy sauce as other reviewers said it was too salty. After cooking it, the pork was tender, but all I could taste was the lemon. I don't know what went wrong, but my tastebuds didn't like it. I did make the tzatziki sauce from another recipe and that came out fine. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Zampacorta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
YUMMY! we enjoyed this very much. I had extra and froze them for another day only to pull them out the very next day, they were that good we couldn't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States