Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I really loved the tomato, garlic, and onion flavor of the soup. I have never actually cooked the avacado and that was really yummy. I so wish though, that I would have read where it said the soup had a kick. Wow, does it! I was worried about the green chilis and subbed salsa verde. Some other small changes I had to make were using 2 14.5 oz cans of petite diced tomatoes, fresh cilantro for dried, and 1/2 the amount of lemon juice for the lime. I was wondering where the hot kick came from and then realized it might be the cayenne pepper. As I liked the overall fresh flavor, I may make this again and reduce the spices or at least the cayenne. I served it with the cheese suggested and some crushed tortilla chips. Thanks, Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a great twist to turkey soup! My picky husband doesn't like my standard turkey soup recipe but loves this one. Will definitely make it again, may even before Thanksgiving - using chicken as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I loved this! I did two things differently though. I used fresh cilantro, and only fresh tomatoes. This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
great soup..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was really good! Bright and fresh tasting, this is a great way to deal with leftovers. Only two changes: I used fresh cilantro instead of dried, and I used the avocado as a garnish, just because! I took your suggestion and served it with cornbread. Yum, yum! Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love it! Easy and delicious! Added a can of black beans. I didn't feel the love with avocado, but everything else was perfect! This recipe would be versatile too, depending on what you have on hand. Thank you for a new way to use leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good. Don't use whole onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I love this recipe. It has so much flavor. I made it with turkey leftovers and love it so much that I make it with chicken as well. I like to add a half cup of sweet corn and half cup of black beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nelliejeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent. I sauted the onions, garlic and some bell pepper before following the rest of the recipe. Like many, I used chicken broth instead of veg. Also added some corn. Quick and easy with a very homemade result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Okay. Not filling enough. I think adding some black beans would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States