Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I added 1/2 teaspoon coriander and 1/2 teaspoon dried ancho chile powder. I used my homemade smoked turkey stock and leftover T-day smoked turkey - delicious! If you don't use smoked turkey but want that flavor you could add 1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We doubled the recipe and it was a huge hit at a dinner for neighbors after Thanksgiving. We served with cornbread croutons. Taste hint, the lime juice is a huge factor in making this a real show stopper. We poured it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious & easy & quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I slow cooked this and threw in jalapeno's and it was amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Fabulous and easy. I subbed I can of rotel tomatoes for the plum tomatoes and chiles and skipped the onion. I added a can of corn.Serve with sour cream, chips and cheddar - awesome!!! I did use leftover smoked turkey from Thanksgiving - our family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious with some changes - I made turkey broth from a smoked turkey carcass instead of using vegetable broth. (If you don't have a smoker, you could probably use chipotle peppers in place of the chilis.) I also used two tablespoons of fresh cilantro instead of dried. A definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Love love love this recipe. I use it as my go to chicken or turkey soup base. I've made it exactly to the recipe as well as tweaking it, all are so yummy! I hate when people review recipes and change it so much and then give it a bad review.....as i said ive made this exactly to recipe and its great as is, but here are a couple tweaks I recommend. 1. I've substituted a can of sweet corn for the chili peppers. I love it spicy but my 9 year old does not. Tis way she will eat it too! 2. I fry the onions first. Caramelizes them nicely. 3. I've substituted the chilis for diced fresh mushrooms and/ or carrots. 4. I generally do half chicken no sodium broth and half stock from the chicken or turkey I just made. Makes it much tastier. 5. I chop up the avacado and put it right in there. 6. I double the chicken or turkey. I love chunky meaty soups! 7. I cook mine in the crock pot. I do for 8 hours on low and the last half hour on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Boerner Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's a good base. I think that next time, I'll add more to jazz it up (maybe some beans, corn, and fresh jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
At first we were hesitant to try this. But we did it anyway and we are happy we did. We really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Giving this a strong 4 ... In my husbands words (who is a solid meat and potato guy) "it's hard to give any soup 5 stars..this was close" made pretty much to the T! Thanks Doug! Will 100% make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States