Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Tried this last night, and it was pretty good. Had to do some improvising. I used chicken broth, because that's what was on hand, then diced up a fresh tomato instead of whole canned tomatoes. Didn't have cilantro or avocado, and eyeballed the spices since I had a lot of turkey to use, and had to increase the broth by about half again the amount. Then I added some noodles after getting a bit too much cayenne. Anyway, it made an incredibly tough tasteless turkey breast edible. In our house it may be known as "Grilled Turkey Disaster Salvage Soup." :-) Point is that even with all my substitutions, alterations, and left out ingredients it was still tasty. Kids ate all of theirs, and DH and I each ate two helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macdoel, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
So delicious and so easy! I didn't use avocado or cilantro because I didn't have, but it was still great! (And no need for the cheese) I did use more water than was recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this with a couple of changes, but nothing I thought was too drastic. I used a package of ground turkey in place of chopped, I used onion powder instead of an onion, I used one drained can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh, I doubled the garlic, I added a can of pinto beans that I drained and rinsed and also some frozen corn kernels. I served with sharp cheddar cheese and corn bread muffins. I thought this was a really great soup. Next time I would probably use more chopped tomatoes in place of the can of whole peeled tomatoes because my family is not a fan of whole tomatoes in their soup. My husband thought the avocado in the soup was unnecessary but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My whole family loved this soup and we didn't waste any turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it, made a second batch right away.I didnt have the chilli peppers but it was still excellent! Will be my go to recipe for chicken also. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty close. Only changes, no corn and no fresh tomatoes and no avocado. Turned out amazing. Served with cheddar cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I followed COOKINMOMMY1's advice but i used chicken stock. I added chopped onion, a can of black beans, a can of corn, one can of stewed tomatoes, a can of green chilies , grape tomatoes, FOUR cloves of garlic minced, the juice of one entire lime, and seasonings, extra cumin and my favorite southwest seasoning. Cooked on the stove for an hour then added about a half cup chopped fresh cilantro 1 1/2 cups of shredded colby-jack cheese, and a cup of sour cream. Stirred and let it simmer for 10 minutes longer. I served mine with sour cream, cheese, chopped green onions, more cilantro, avacado and crushed tortilla chips. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEAFORTWO001
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I added 1/2 teaspoon coriander and 1/2 teaspoon dried ancho chile powder. I used my homemade smoked turkey stock and leftover T-day smoked turkey - delicious! If you don't use smoked turkey but want that flavor you could add 1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We doubled the recipe and it was a huge hit at a dinner for neighbors after Thanksgiving. We served with cornbread croutons. Taste hint, the lime juice is a huge factor in making this a real show stopper. We poured it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious & easy & quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States