Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Hubby said that it was very tasty. He is a very picky eater, so this is a big complement. I used Chicken Base, Celery, Corn, and Pinto Beans. I eye-balled it to make a huge batch in the crock pot. Let simmer for several hours (until the onion was tender).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I changed it so much it no longer resembles this recipe. BUT this was the one that gave me all the great ideas. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family and I loved this recipe but I will be using diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes next time. We would also not add sour cream (as suggested in the video), it did give it a weird color and taste. I think the cheese was enough to counter the heat from the spices. I think I will also add corn and beans as some people suggested. Can't wait to make it again with the added changes! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made as written except that I read the reviews beforehand and decided to add a can of rinsed black beans to the pot after I turned off the heat. I do not think they added much if any flavor and I simply did it to stretch the pot out so it would last me all week at work for lunches. I honestly thought the avocado would lose not only its bright green color but also it's texture after being reheated but it held up wonderfully. This is a great way to use up extra turkey from the holidays. Thanks so much Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by :)Ashley:)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My husband LOVED this soup! I put two cans of black beans, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/4 tsp paprika instead of cumin and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Awesome! Garnished with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Oh I also just dumped everything in the crock pot and left it for 6 hours. Never checked it once. Came home served it up and WOW! Delicious and easy! What could be better?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)Ashley:)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and quick. I added the beans and corn like many have suggested and it turned out great. I also added some jalapeno for some extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This was SOOOOOO good!!! I admit, after reading all of the reviews I wasn't sure this was going to be anything special. I even thought of trying a different recipe altogether - but I'm really glad I didn't! This is absolutely superb AS WRITTEN!!! DO NOT be tempted to make any changes (at least initially). This soup is not bland in the least. Top your soup with cheese, some fresh cilantro / scallion and crushed tortilla chips (or strips) and voila! - a satisfying, warming bowl of awesome deliciousness! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Doug! I will be making this often, subbing chicken when turkey is not an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This soup is awsome!!!! I added 1 1/2 teaspoon chilie powder it was sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I followed the intent of this recipe. My deviations were based on what I had on hand. My tomatoes were packed with spicy red pepper, I replaced the broth with 12 oz vegetable juice and an equal amount of water and replaced the canned green chilies with a fresh jalapeño sliced. I added some frozen corn just to use it up. I replaced the shredded Monterey Jack with grated Cojita. All in all, it was rich and flavorful and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States