Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I don't believe that reviews should be made on a recipe if changes were made to it. You're reviewing a modified version of the recipe, not the recipe itself. As such, I made this recipe exactly as written. I didn't care for it. There was an overwhelming tomato flavor that completely over powered all of the other flavors. Thankfully adding a blob of sour cream to the bowl seemed to offset the heavy tomato flavor enough that I could choke it down. The onions didn't get fully tender and I'm not really a fan of crunchy onions. The smell of the soup as it was cooking was almost nauseating to me (no, I'm not pregnant). I think if I were to try this one again, I would cut the tomato, use chicken stock instead of vegetable stock and maybe add more cumin, some chili powder, more lime, etc. I would have to mess with it quite a bit to find the right combination of flavors. Two stars because it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilstonic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This soup is delicious. I cooked a turkey so that I could make this soup. The only modifications to the recipe were turkey stock, fresh cilantro, a can of Rotel original and some corn. This soup is a BIG hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Incorporated some of the suggestions in the reviews and created an excellent solution for leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Wonderful soup! Perfect amount of heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Kligman
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It was amazing!! I used fresh cilantro and chilies instead which I think added a little more flavor. I also used garlic salt instead of the fresh garlic. I didn't have Monterrey Jack Cheese so I used parm which worked fine. I added sour cream and some cracked pepper which was also really good!! Super yummy and really really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is now my son's favorite soup. I didn't add the cilantro, cheese or avocado, and substituted the vegetable stock with chicken stock. I also threw in some Mexican style pasole. I used chicken in the second batch...(yes he wanted it 2 weeks in a row), because I was out of leftover turkey. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I TRIED THE RECIPE YESTERDAY AND ABSOLUTELEY LOVED IT. THE CHANGES I MADE INCLUDED USING 1 CAN OF DICED TOMATOES AND 1 CAN OF ORIGINAL ROTEL TOMATOES.I ADDED 1 CAN OF RINSED BLACK BEANS AND 1 CAN OF DRAINED WHOLE KERNEL CORN. YUMMY, I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN SOON, USING A WHOLE CHICKEN, COOKED AND DEBONED. THANKS, DOUG AND OTHERS FOR THE RECIPE AND THEIR SUGGESTIONS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent version of "tortilla soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Coffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was delicious. The only tweaks I made were petite diced instead of whole tomatoes and used guacamole (leftover from the holiday) instead of fresh avocado. We don't like spicy too much, so I used a chili and lime seasoning and left off the green chili peppers. I doubled the recipe so there would be lunch leftovers. Nope, got nothing today. And there are just 4 of us. Somebody went back for a third helping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed this soup! I was looking for a different recipe to use some of the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and this fit the bill. Didn't change a thing except I added some fresh chopped parsley for some color. Today was a cold day and soup was just what we needed. Thank you, Doug Matthews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States