Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
As written, I didn't like this recipe much, but thought it had potential. So... I doctored it quite a bit and it turns out to be amazing. I took it to work today and everyone went wild and requested the recipe. I put the turkey, broth (I used turkey stock left over from T'giving), onion, a can of black beans, a can of corn, one can of chopped tomatoes, one can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis, FOUR cloves of garlic minced, the juice of one entire lime, and seasonings as written in my crock pot on low. Eight hours later I returned from work and added about a half cup chopped fresh cilantro, two cups of shredded colby-jack cheese, and a cup of sour cream. Stirred and let it heat on high for about thirty minutes. Then I crushed tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl, ladled the soup over, and put more grated cheese on top. TO DIE FOR! Tastes like Chipotle in a bowl. Seriously good. Doesn't look that pretty but incredibly tasty. I gave the recipe five stars as written to keep the ratings high so people would experiment with this FABULOUS soup! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Oh.My.Goodness. This was sooo good. I made a few changes, most inspired by the other reviews. I used turkey stock, 28 oz diced, seasoned tomatoes, 14 oz tomatoes w/ green chiles, 1 can each black beans and white corn. Onions and celery cooked in chicken stock (excess from T-day dressing). Skipped the fresh tomatoes, small can of chiles and cayenne. Doubled the cumin and added coriander and chili powder. It sounds like a lot of changes but I really just tweaked it to our preferences. I put the whole mess in the crockpot for a few hours and served over crushed tortilla chips to thicken and topped with sour cream, scallions and avocado. This one's absolutely a keeper and spicy-loving DH didn't think it needed any additional heat-it wasn't hot but had so much flavor it didn't need more kick to make it interesting. Next time I may add some sauteed sweet red peppers but I'd be happy making it the same way again. Five stars because I think the original would be just as good, just different and I don't ever follow any recipe exactly anyway. Thanks, Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made a couple changes just for what I had on hand. I had four large turkey drumsticks that I bought on the cheap, so I cooked them down and pieced them out and used the broth (that I flavored up with onion, garlic, cumin, coriander, paprika and oregano) that I made in this soup. I didn't have whole peeled tomatoes but I did have fire-roasted tomatoes, so I used that. I upped the spices quite a bit and threw in two chopped red bell pepper when I sauteed the onion and garlic. It's a great way to use turkey on the cheap, which I really appreciate and this soup as a whole is pretty low-cal, if you lighten up on your cheese sprinkling hand. Plus, it's quick, even making my own broth. After I had the broth made, it literally took me less than a half hour to pull this soup together. But, you might need more spice. I like my soups really kickin', so I just spiced away. After taste testing, I think it needs something else. I can't put my finger on it. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Doug. NOTE: And for all of you who are like me and buy turkey drumsticks for the cheap meat, four large is exactly enough for a pot of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Excellent soup! My family loved it. I added half a can of corn(rinsed) and half a can of pinto beans(rinsed) for that authentic southwestern taste. I topped with extra sharp cheddar and jack and fresh cilantro. Also I had some french bread for Dipping. (My three year old loved doing that) Or you could serve it with crispy tortilla strips. (that's how my husband likes it.Also remember to keep stirring this as some of the solids may stick to the bottom. Good recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I modified a bit because I like more depth in my soup and used chicken instead of turkey (what I had available). I sauteed the onion and garlic in the oil first before adding stewed tomatoes along with the fresh romas. I also added corn and black beans. I must say I enjoyed adding the lime it brightened up the soup but I disliked the chopped avocado, I love avocadoes but the flavors of the soup made them taste a little strange. I prefer topping the soup with Guacamole instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I added a can of drained corn and used several tablespoons of minced fresh cilantro, and omitted the avocado. Children may find it a bit spicy for them. Quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This soup was excellent. I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes instead of whole peeled tomatoes. I also put all of the ingredients in a crock pot, turned on high and let it cook for three and a half hours. Warm corn bread was a perfect additon to the soup! It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This tasted great after previously suggested changes were made to the recipe. Most important, I would fry the garlic and onion in oil or butter first. I used 2 cloves of garlic and 1/4 tsp of cayenne and added both black beans and corn. I thickened it with potato flakes and crushed corn chips into it. The sour cream gave it a strange color, maybe it would work better if it had cooled down a bit. This tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Good. I added strips of 4 corn tortillas and cooked for an additional 20 minutes. Didn't have avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Delicious. I, too, added a can of corn and a can of black beans and used fresh cilantro. Try topping with a cut up corn tortilla. Really adds some nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States