Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Love love love this recipe. I use it as my go to chicken or turkey soup base. I've made it exactly to the recipe as well as tweaking it, all are so yummy! I hate when people review recipes and change it so much and then give it a bad review.....as i said ive made this exactly to recipe and its great as is, but here are a couple tweaks I recommend. 1. I've substituted a can of sweet corn for the chili peppers. I love it spicy but my 9 year old does not. Tis way she will eat it too! 2. I fry the onions first. Caramelizes them nicely. 3. I've substituted the chilis for diced fresh mushrooms and/ or carrots. 4. I generally do half chicken no sodium broth and half stock from the chicken or turkey I just made. Makes it much tastier. 5. I chop up the avacado and put it right in there. 6. I double the chicken or turkey. I love chunky meaty soups! 7. I cook mine in the crock pot. I do for 8 hours on low and the last half hour on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Boerner Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's a good base. I think that next time, I'll add more to jazz it up (maybe some beans, corn, and fresh jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
At first we were hesitant to try this. But we did it anyway and we are happy we did. We really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Giving this a strong 4 ... In my husbands words (who is a solid meat and potato guy) "it's hard to give any soup 5 stars..this was close" made pretty much to the T! Thanks Doug! Will 100% make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Another recipe in my box for awhile that I finally got to make it. Great way to use up leftover turkey. Glad we got one last cold blast for soup this past week. I pretty much followed the recipe, except threw in a garden jalapeño and poblano pepper, since I like heat. Oh and I put a can of pinto beans for fiber. Thanks Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I really loved the tomato, garlic, and onion flavor of the soup. I have never actually cooked the avacado and that was really yummy. I so wish though, that I would have read where it said the soup had a kick. Wow, does it! I was worried about the green chilis and subbed salsa verde. Some other small changes I had to make were using 2 14.5 oz cans of petite diced tomatoes, fresh cilantro for dried, and 1/2 the amount of lemon juice for the lime. I was wondering where the hot kick came from and then realized it might be the cayenne pepper. As I liked the overall fresh flavor, I may make this again and reduce the spices or at least the cayenne. I served it with the cheese suggested and some crushed tortilla chips. Thanks, Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a great twist to turkey soup! My picky husband doesn't like my standard turkey soup recipe but loves this one. Will definitely make it again, may even before Thanksgiving - using chicken as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I loved this! I did two things differently though. I used fresh cilantro, and only fresh tomatoes. This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
great soup..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was really good! Bright and fresh tasting, this is a great way to deal with leftovers. Only two changes: I used fresh cilantro instead of dried, and I used the avocado as a garnish, just because! I took your suggestion and served it with cornbread. Yum, yum! Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States