Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This was SOOOOOO good!!! I admit, after reading all of the reviews I wasn't sure this was going to be anything special. I even thought of trying a different recipe altogether - but I'm really glad I didn't! This is absolutely superb AS WRITTEN!!! DO NOT be tempted to make any changes (at least initially). This soup is not bland in the least. Top your soup with cheese, some fresh cilantro / scallion and crushed tortilla chips (or strips) and voila! - a satisfying, warming bowl of awesome deliciousness! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Doug! I will be making this often, subbing chicken when turkey is not an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This soup is awsome!!!! I added 1 1/2 teaspoon chilie powder it was sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I followed the intent of this recipe. My deviations were based on what I had on hand. My tomatoes were packed with spicy red pepper, I replaced the broth with 12 oz vegetable juice and an equal amount of water and replaced the canned green chilies with a fresh jalapeño sliced. I added some frozen corn just to use it up. I replaced the shredded Monterey Jack with grated Cojita. All in all, it was rich and flavorful and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Tried this last night, and it was pretty good. Had to do some improvising. I used chicken broth, because that's what was on hand, then diced up a fresh tomato instead of whole canned tomatoes. Didn't have cilantro or avocado, and eyeballed the spices since I had a lot of turkey to use, and had to increase the broth by about half again the amount. Then I added some noodles after getting a bit too much cayenne. Anyway, it made an incredibly tough tasteless turkey breast edible. In our house it may be known as "Grilled Turkey Disaster Salvage Soup." :-) Point is that even with all my substitutions, alterations, and left out ingredients it was still tasty. Kids ate all of theirs, and DH and I each ate two helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macdoel, California, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
So delicious and so easy! I didn't use avocado or cilantro because I didn't have, but it was still great! (And no need for the cheese) I did use more water than was recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this with a couple of changes, but nothing I thought was too drastic. I used a package of ground turkey in place of chopped, I used onion powder instead of an onion, I used one drained can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh, I doubled the garlic, I added a can of pinto beans that I drained and rinsed and also some frozen corn kernels. I served with sharp cheddar cheese and corn bread muffins. I thought this was a really great soup. Next time I would probably use more chopped tomatoes in place of the can of whole peeled tomatoes because my family is not a fan of whole tomatoes in their soup. My husband thought the avocado in the soup was unnecessary but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My whole family loved this soup and we didn't waste any turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it, made a second batch right away.I didnt have the chilli peppers but it was still excellent! Will be my go to recipe for chicken also. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty close. Only changes, no corn and no fresh tomatoes and no avocado. Turned out amazing. Served with cheddar cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I followed COOKINMOMMY1's advice but i used chicken stock. I added chopped onion, a can of black beans, a can of corn, one can of stewed tomatoes, a can of green chilies , grape tomatoes, FOUR cloves of garlic minced, the juice of one entire lime, and seasonings, extra cumin and my favorite southwest seasoning. Cooked on the stove for an hour then added about a half cup chopped fresh cilantro 1 1/2 cups of shredded colby-jack cheese, and a cup of sour cream. Stirred and let it simmer for 10 minutes longer. I served mine with sour cream, cheese, chopped green onions, more cilantro, avacado and crushed tortilla chips. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEAFORTWO001

Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States