Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Used 3 15oz cans tomatoes, 5 cloves garlic, minced. Sauteed onions and garlic in broth before adding to crockpot. Used chicken broth and juice of one whole lemon. Cooked in slow cooker on high for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was yummy! I used 48 oz can of chicken broth instead of veggie stock... As suggested by someone else, increased the lime juice and used the juice of the whole lime. I also threw in a can of drained corn and a can of cilantro lime Rotel. Somehow I was out of cilantro so substituted basil. Pepper jack cheese added a little more spice. Topped with a little sour cream... Mmmm do over for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good! We enjoyed it, it's a great soup for using up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a fabulous base recipe...like most of the other reviews, we added a can of black beans and used Rotel instead of plain tomatoes. Otherwise followed the recipe and it got rave reviews from everyone! No leftover turkey at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a great way to use up leftover turkey. It had a wonderfully refreshing flavor - not the same old turkey soup! My whole family loved it. Will definitely make this again. I did make a couple changes, however. I made my own stock from the leftover turkey bones, rather than using four cups of vegetable broth. I also added some black beans, celery, sliced olives and peppers for some more color a vegetables. But I kept all the seasonings and other flavors the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
substituted cayanne pepper ith an adobo pepper minced. Fabulously warm and yummy! Kids loved it paired with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
First off, I HAVE to say how grateful I am to find this recipe on here!! I had more than my feel of turkey sandwiches and sick to death of turkey. This recipe has the best flavors and my husband loved it. The only change I made was the whole peeled tomatoes. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead and added a tablespoon of chicken bouillon crystals. Other than that, I followed the recipe down to the cornbread. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!! Unlike many soups, this one has plenty of flavor from day one! I rarely take time to rate recipes, but this one is a keeper. A great way to use up the less desirable leftover parts of the turkey. Like many reviewers, I found the basic recipe easily adaptable to what I had in my kitchen. (I used chicken broth, extra turkey and spices, 1 can each of fire roasted salsa tomatoes, stewed tomatoes, mild tomatoes w/ green chilis, corn, and a drained, rinsed can black beans-no avacado.) We had it "plain" (brothy) today; will wait a day or two and add sour cream and cheeses to leftovers to make it different. LOVED IT! Thanks, Doug, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This soup was a fantastic way to use up our leftover turkey! I added corn and black beans, as well as half a block of cream cheese, my son and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Excelente Doug! Fabuloso tambien! :) I have been meaning to try this for quite some time and finally had some leftover turkey to do it with! The only changes I made were to sub fresh ingredients for canned/dried. I loathe canned anything, so used 6 fresh, roma tomatoes (peeled and chopped), and used some of my pickled serrano peppers that I made in August (all to eliminate all the needless sodium in canned goods). I did add 2 cups of pinto beans that I had in the freezer (dried beans that I soaked and cooked earlier) and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. With the addition of the beans, it made it that much more healthier and filling! I topped with fat-free sour cream and low-fat cheese.... I have 2 containers leftover that will be used up in the next few days, this really is an awesome flavoured soup with the ingredients used...and a MUST for this recipe is to use fresh cilantro...dried just doesn't cut it! :) Thank you again Doug for the inspiration in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States