Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
One of my favourite soup recipes! Great to use with leftover turkey or chicken. I don't usually have veg. broth on hand so I always use chicken broth. Super quick and easy to make. Avocado and fresh cilantro make this soup outstanding! Be sure to try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Loved this soup! I did, however, make some changes. I added a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also used fresh cilantro instead of dried. Makes a huge difference to use fresh!! Have also made it with chicken when there was no left over turkey! Fiance loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Just made this tonight with the modifications by the first reviewer. She should submit her own recipe....it was wonderful! I did modify with what was on hand....used northern beans, italian spiced tomatoes and less sour cream...but it was really really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
The soup is so delicious! Even my husband who is not a soup fan said it's phenomenal. I made a couple of changes - I substituted leftover homemade turkey stock for the vegetable; can of spicy rotel tomatoes for the roma tomatoes; added chili powder and a chicken bouillon cube as well. Before mixing the ingredients in the pot I sauteed the onions, garlic and chiles in extra virgin olive oil to carmalize. Awesome results and we will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I had some smoked turkey left over and used that I Liked the spices the way they and so did my family. I added more meat and I did add a can of hominey instead of corn and beans to give it that true southwestern/hispanic flavor. It is a simple recipe that is tasty. I didn't have time to make cornbread or even gorditas but I will next time my family has said that this is a keeper recipe and that is a big complement coming from them especally from my son who is studying culinary arts. Remember to always add a little spice to life that is what make it exciting. Thank you Doug Matthews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONICA68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
What a different way to use the turkey from T-day! I changed it a bit (as ususal) I sauteed celery w/a bunch of jarred garlic in evoo, then added the turkey, reg.size can of diced tomatoes,(didnt understand using whole canned tomatoes) 32oz box of chix broth, a drained can of black beans, 1/2 a beer I was drinking :),squeeze of lime juice, and about 1/2 cup of creamed corn leftover (I'd recommend a splash of cream/whole milk to thicken and cut the green chili spice if you dont like it spicy) and a tad of frozen corn, another tad of frozen okra, cumin and chili powder, can of green chilis.. then finished it w/ stirring in chopped green onions (either add them early, or late otherwise they just taste wierd) also fresh cilantro last 15 mins. Super Yummy!! I put some cayenne pepper in my bowl only since I was feeding the kids. Shredded the monterey jack atop and served w/ tortilla chips. Everyone totally loved it! Wouldn't have guessed it was leftover Thanksgiving. After all the turkey..stuffing..mshd pots.. this was a great change w/out wasting $$. Thanks for the awesome post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I added a can of black beans and corn from an other reviewer's advice, and I used turkey stock because it was what I had on hand. I also used the avocado and cilantro as a topper for the fresh taste. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I used 8 cups of turkey broth (but I didn't increase the red pepper and it was plenty spicy)...I did increase the cumin. I didn't have the fresh tomatoes, but it was fine anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I served this over crushed tortilla chips and used jalapeños instead of green chilis. Will make again. Good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
So easy and so versatile! It makes a great soup, or thicken it for a burrito topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States