Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a good, modest soup to use up turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
delicious way to completely make your left-overs fresh and new. We made it a tortilla soup by adding friend strips or tortilla with about 5 mins left in the cooking process, then topped our individual servings with Sour Cream. Overall the best thing about this recipe is that it doesn't taste at all like Thanksgiving food, so if you're tired of the same old turkey, try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yummy! My "doesn't like spicy" son even ate it. I used a can of Rotel for the green chiles and used chicken broth. We barbeque our turkey with mesquite charcoal, so it has a nice smokey flavor to add to this soup. Will definitely be making this soup whenever I have leftover turkey. The cumin adds a necessary taste to this soup - don't skip it. I used ground chipotle instead of cayenne because that is what I keep on hand. As others have suggested, I chose to saute the onion and garlic before adding broth and tomatoes, even though I'm sure I would like the soup without doing that. I put the avocado into the bowls "raw" and poured the soup over - because one of us doesn't like avocado, and the other two love it. This is a definite keeper and already in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe!!! Wonderful way to use that extra turkey giving it a completely different flavor from Thanksgiving. Did the recipe just as written except added a bit more turkey and a can of black beans. Put the avocado in the individual bowls as some don't like it. The crumbled tortilla chips, Mexican mix cheese and sour cream were perfect on top!! It was fabulous!!! One complaint, I should have doubled the recipe to have more left today =( Oh yea, and I had to use Italian tomatoes as that's all I had in the house and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is a good dish! People just kept eating and eating, I'm glad there's enough for tommorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I also added about a cup of frozen corn and a can of drained black beans. The soup would probably be okay without them, but more like a chunky spicy tomato soup instead of a turkey soup with southwestern flavors. It was amazing with the additions, needed no further alteration. I made it for lunch today, and am going to make it for lunch tomorrow as well. It was quite spicy, but serve it younger diners with sour cream instead of cheese. My 8-year-old son liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Made as written this is only spicy tomato soup with a bit of chicken in it. Has some potential, but there are plenty of other soups that provide a a better base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is such an easy, fantastic recipe. I have made it exactly according to the recipe and have also made it adding corn. Both ways are delicious. It also freezes well. This is my most used soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was really good! I only put in about a pinch of the pepper (I used chipoltle chile pepper) and I added a can of hominy corn. I also pre-cooked the onion and garlic in a little olive oil. My husband and kids thought it was fantastic. It was also VERY easy. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
One of my favourite soup recipes! Great to use with leftover turkey or chicken. I don't usually have veg. broth on hand so I always use chicken broth. Super quick and easy to make. Avocado and fresh cilantro make this soup outstanding! Be sure to try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States