Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was good, but I didn't give it 4 stars because without modifications it wouldn't have been as good. At the halfway point I thought it needed more since it was very tomatoey and brothy and the was about it. I added some corn (maybe a 1/3 cup) and a can of rinsed black beans. I also added extra cilantro and cumin. I was worried about it being too spicy for the kids, so I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon which was plenty. Topped with cheddar, sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Even following the changes that most reviewers suggested, this soup did nothing for any of us. We didn't eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
YUM. What a great healthy way to use leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellent!! Perfect for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I followed other's suggestions of adding a can of drained & washed black beans. I also added 1/2 cup of fresh salsa and I didn't have the green chile pepper. Perfect!! Will definitely make this again after Christmas! TIP: Add turkey at end to avoid it getting dried out. It is just needs to be reheated, not re-cooked. I learned this tip from Tyler Florence and he's right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
LOVED this soup. I am not a creative cook but I read all the reviews and adjusted the recipe by sauteeing the garlic & onion in olive oil then added the other ingredients...turkey, broth, corn, black beans, seasonings as suggested. I used 1 can of Rotel Mexican flavor and 1 can diced tomatos with green chilis...good and spicy! I added sour cream after pouring soup into bowls...it was fabulous, next time I will try topping it with guacamole along with the sour cream. My husband loved it as well! It will become a weekly staple during the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great recipe. A welcome change from cream and gravy based leftover recipes. We like spicy so I used jalapenos in place of the canned chilis. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a great soup and a good way - other than the ordinary - to use that leftover turkey. I made a few small changes. Instead of the can of tomatoes and the Roma tomatoes that the recipe called for, I used two cans of original Rotel tomatoes. Since the Rotel had the chilies already in it, I omitted the green chilies that the recipe called for. I also used about a tablespoon of fresh cilantro chopped up rather than the dry cilantro. This was great served with Monterey Jack cheese. I also used crushed up tortilla chips like crackers. Will definitely use this recipe again with leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I liked it, didn't LOVE it. I am still trying to figure out yet what exactly it IS I would change to bump it up a notch. After reading the previous reviews I think maybe using chicken or turkey broth would help....and maybe the black beans and cilantro too. I only used 1/4 tsp of the cayenne since hubby doesn't love spicy stuff...but that wasn't really the issue. I have a bunch of leftovers. I think I will try adding the beans and cilanto to them...... Update>tried doctoring the leftovers. Much better! Added another tsp of cilantro, a can of black beans, a pkg of creamed corn, and 1/4 tsp each of chili, cumin and coriander. This version was a big hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this soup yesterday and it's really, really good. Me too added a can of black beans and a can of corn. Highly recommended. Petra 12/02/2009
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup was excellent and a wonderful way to use the turkey leftovers. I did add one 14.5 oz. can of drained and rinsed black beans, and one 14.5 oz. can of creamed corn. Instead of vegetable broth I used 4 cups of water with about 2 tbps of chicken soup base but I think either vegetable or chicken broth or fresh chicken or turkey broth would work. I ladled the soup into crocks and put shredded cheddar on top and melted it for a few minutes in the oven. I then added the avocados and sour cream. I will definitely make this again with either leftover chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States