Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lauren Kligman
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It was amazing!! I used fresh cilantro and chilies instead which I think added a little more flavor. I also used garlic salt instead of the fresh garlic. I didn't have Monterrey Jack Cheese so I used parm which worked fine. I added sour cream and some cracked pepper which was also really good!! Super yummy and really really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is now my son's favorite soup. I didn't add the cilantro, cheese or avocado, and substituted the vegetable stock with chicken stock. I also threw in some Mexican style pasole. I used chicken in the second batch...(yes he wanted it 2 weeks in a row), because I was out of leftover turkey. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I TRIED THE RECIPE YESTERDAY AND ABSOLUTELEY LOVED IT. THE CHANGES I MADE INCLUDED USING 1 CAN OF DICED TOMATOES AND 1 CAN OF ORIGINAL ROTEL TOMATOES.I ADDED 1 CAN OF RINSED BLACK BEANS AND 1 CAN OF DRAINED WHOLE KERNEL CORN. YUMMY, I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN SOON, USING A WHOLE CHICKEN, COOKED AND DEBONED. THANKS, DOUG AND OTHERS FOR THE RECIPE AND THEIR SUGGESTIONS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent version of "tortilla soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Coffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was delicious. The only tweaks I made were petite diced instead of whole tomatoes and used guacamole (leftover from the holiday) instead of fresh avocado. We don't like spicy too much, so I used a chili and lime seasoning and left off the green chili peppers. I doubled the recipe so there would be lunch leftovers. Nope, got nothing today. And there are just 4 of us. Somebody went back for a third helping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed this soup! I was looking for a different recipe to use some of the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and this fit the bill. Didn't change a thing except I added some fresh chopped parsley for some color. Today was a cold day and soup was just what we needed. Thank you, Doug Matthews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a good base recipe. I made broth with a turkey carcass and then added 2 small cans of crushed tomatoes. I was in a hurry so I didn't add any fresh aromatics but next time I will saute some onion, garlic and jalapeno and add them to the soup. I added 2 limes because I had a lot of broth and I loved the taste of it. Almost like Tom Yam but with a Southwestern flair. The amount of spice called for was not enough so I upped that and added black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! And I'm sure it would be just as delish with chicken. I took others' suggestions and added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a can of black beans, and used a little extra cumin and about a TBSP of chili powder. I also used diced peeled tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. I also sauted the onion with triple the amount of minced garlic. Cooked it in the slow cooker on high for a couple of hours, then added 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro, some sour cream, maybe 1/4 cup, and 1/2 the cheese. Then we added sour cream, cheese and avocado to suit our individual tastes. The only thing I'll change next time is to stir the sour cream into a small cup of the soup and then add to the pot. It seemed to clump a bit when I dumped it straight into the soup mixture. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I added mac and cheese balls and spiced it up a little more. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica D Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe that can be made as written or modified to your own taste. I used a large can of rotel tomatoes Instead of the can of regular tomatoes and plum tomatoes. I also added a can of Mexican corn and black beans. It was delish. Thanks Doug for a great recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States