Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Wonderful recipe to customize to a family's individual tastes and can't go wrong doing so. Great way to use up leftover turkey after the holidays especially when there is a nip in the air. I did slow boil the turkey carcass and used the broth as it gave it more depth of flavor with the seasonings, etc., otherwise followed the directions. Thanks to alleviating turkey burnout Doug Matthews, aka, Respect the Bird blogger! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This soup is delicious. I cooked a turkey so that I could make this soup. The only modifications to the recipe were turkey stock, fresh cilantro, a can of Rotel original and some corn. This soup is a BIG hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Incorporated some of the suggestions in the reviews and created an excellent solution for leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Wonderful soup! Perfect amount of heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Kligman
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It was amazing!! I used fresh cilantro and chilies instead which I think added a little more flavor. I also used garlic salt instead of the fresh garlic. I didn't have Monterrey Jack Cheese so I used parm which worked fine. I added sour cream and some cracked pepper which was also really good!! Super yummy and really really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is now my son's favorite soup. I didn't add the cilantro, cheese or avocado, and substituted the vegetable stock with chicken stock. I also threw in some Mexican style pasole. I used chicken in the second batch...(yes he wanted it 2 weeks in a row), because I was out of leftover turkey. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I TRIED THE RECIPE YESTERDAY AND ABSOLUTELEY LOVED IT. THE CHANGES I MADE INCLUDED USING 1 CAN OF DICED TOMATOES AND 1 CAN OF ORIGINAL ROTEL TOMATOES.I ADDED 1 CAN OF RINSED BLACK BEANS AND 1 CAN OF DRAINED WHOLE KERNEL CORN. YUMMY, I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN SOON, USING A WHOLE CHICKEN, COOKED AND DEBONED. THANKS, DOUG AND OTHERS FOR THE RECIPE AND THEIR SUGGESTIONS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent version of "tortilla soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Coffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was delicious. The only tweaks I made were petite diced instead of whole tomatoes and used guacamole (leftover from the holiday) instead of fresh avocado. We don't like spicy too much, so I used a chili and lime seasoning and left off the green chili peppers. I doubled the recipe so there would be lunch leftovers. Nope, got nothing today. And there are just 4 of us. Somebody went back for a third helping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed this soup! I was looking for a different recipe to use some of the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and this fit the bill. Didn't change a thing except I added some fresh chopped parsley for some color. Today was a cold day and soup was just what we needed. Thank you, Doug Matthews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States