Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I took cues from other reviewers and kicked it up a couple of notches. I replaced the mushroom soup with a 10-oz jar of medium-hot salsa, added half a cup of chopped fresh cilantro, and used only one can of green chilis--but hot ones. I kicked up the protein and fiber by increasing the turkey to about 2 cups and adding a can of black beans, rinsed and drained, and I used fat-free sour cream. When I tasted it before cooking I thought I had gone overboard with the salsa -- but after cooking, the dish was nicely balanced and not too hot. Allow a full 45 minutes cooking time for this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I did follow this recipe along with using some tips from other reviews. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup, did not use the mushroom soup instead used i can of enchilada sauce (mild green), I added 1 cup or so of mixed chopped green and red peppers and 1 can black beans, I doubled the turkey at least. I added all ingredients, warmed turkey and soup first then add the rest except for tortillas and cheese into one pot on the stove. Warmed that to just below boiling and added the strips of tortillas to soften, sprayed 2 pans (8 x 8's) covered bottom with mixture, added some cheese then topped with remaining mixture with a layer of cheese on top. I baked it the same amount of time. Served with tortilla chips...So good - an usual way to use up turkey breast that was frozen from another day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I had leftover turkey and I wanted to try something other than the usual soup or tetrazzini. This was definitely a nice change of pace and it was simple to make. I did add more seasoning and less soup but I think it's just a matter of personal taste. Everyone enjoyed it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I'm all about easy, so I cut the tortillas (used fewer) into 1" pieces and mixed them with all the other ingredients. I added some garlic powder. Easy to add/remove ingredients for personal preferences. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great recipe! I used one can of Rotel w/Chilis in place of cream of chicken soup. Added a little cumin and chili powder, and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Really good! Used salsa and pepperjack and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Put a little sauce on bottom before the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So low only because we modified it. Instead of making a cassarole we bought corn chips and ate it like a dip, needed a bit more flavor (but can't be sure because I couln't open the peppers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I absolutely loved this casserole. After reading the reviews I took my left over roast turkey, gave it a rough chop and cooked it in a skillet with a little water and taco seasoning. The only thing I will do different next time is to put down a thin layer of the soup mixture before layering in the tortilla pieces. Some of the corn tortillas on the bottom were a little dry even with the juicy cooked turkey on top. All in all this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
As written, I'll give it a 3. Doctored up with some veggies, though, it's great - a 4+. I replaced the chicken soup with rotel tomatoes. I sauteed half an onion and a clove of garlic, and added it, as well as a can of black beans and a shake of taco seasonings. I chopped the tortillas into wedges. Add a green salad and you have a tasty, quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States