Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I added a can of rotel tomatoes instead of green chilies which gave this more spice. I also substituted plain greek yogurt for sour cream, much healthier than plain sour cream. Plus I used chicken. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious! New favorite way to use up leftover turkey! Added a few tablespoons of diced jalapeños too...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a family favorite even though I had to pinch hit with wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I took cues from other reviewers and kicked it up a couple of notches. I replaced the mushroom soup with a 10-oz jar of medium-hot salsa, added half a cup of chopped fresh cilantro, and used only one can of green chilis--but hot ones. I kicked up the protein and fiber by increasing the turkey to about 2 cups and adding a can of black beans, rinsed and drained, and I used fat-free sour cream. When I tasted it before cooking I thought I had gone overboard with the salsa -- but after cooking, the dish was nicely balanced and not too hot. Allow a full 45 minutes cooking time for this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I did follow this recipe along with using some tips from other reviews. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup, did not use the mushroom soup instead used i can of enchilada sauce (mild green), I added 1 cup or so of mixed chopped green and red peppers and 1 can black beans, I doubled the turkey at least. I added all ingredients, warmed turkey and soup first then add the rest except for tortillas and cheese into one pot on the stove. Warmed that to just below boiling and added the strips of tortillas to soften, sprayed 2 pans (8 x 8's) covered bottom with mixture, added some cheese then topped with remaining mixture with a layer of cheese on top. I baked it the same amount of time. Served with tortilla chips...So good - an usual way to use up turkey breast that was frozen from another day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I had leftover turkey and I wanted to try something other than the usual soup or tetrazzini. This was definitely a nice change of pace and it was simple to make. I did add more seasoning and less soup but I think it's just a matter of personal taste. Everyone enjoyed it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I'm all about easy, so I cut the tortillas (used fewer) into 1" pieces and mixed them with all the other ingredients. I added some garlic powder. Easy to add/remove ingredients for personal preferences. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great recipe! I used one can of Rotel w/Chilis in place of cream of chicken soup. Added a little cumin and chili powder, and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Really good! Used salsa and pepperjack and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States