Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was very tasty! I omitted the tortillas altogether to make a low-carb version and it was still delicious. Only other change I made was only using a 4 oz can of green chilies. It tasted just like chicken enchiladas in sour cream sauce. Thanks for the great recipe, Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made so many changes to this recipe that I probably shouldn't rate it. First I used about 2-3 cups chopped turkey. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and added one can of tomatoes with green chilies. Also added 1 tsp ground cumin and 1 tsp fajita seasoning and stirred the turkey, soup, chilies, tomatoes, sour cream, 1/3 cup chopped cilantro and spices together and let sit for about an hour in the refrigerator before assembling the casserole. I then layered it as directed. After baking I sprinkled with sliced green onions. I served this with salsa on the side as it wasn't spicy enough for my husband. We both liked it a lot after the changes. It's a really good and different way to use the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is delicious! I followed other's suggestions and added a twist of my own... accidentally. I used flour tortillas because we're not crazy about the corn style, and tore into pieces rather than cutting into strips. I also added about 1-1/2 tsp. of chili powder to the soup mixture and didn't have green chili's, so used a can of Rotel, well drained. The recipe said to pour the soup mixture inside, but I reserved enough to lightly cover the top, after the turkey, then I layered with cheddar. The results are excellent... a nice kick without taking away the taste of the turkey. This has replaced our current "day after Thansgiving" favorite and I am sure will remain so for years to come. Thanks for sharing Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Very easy to prepare. It was very good...it tastes just like the enchiladas I make! I used some of my leftover turkey. I made two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
my cooking used to always be McDonalds, until I discovered this web site. This was the first meal I made - My husband is impressed! I can't take any credit though - this was delicious and I will make it again. next time I will cut less corn tortillas, 16 was to many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is very good but too rich. Next time I will substitute a can of green enchilada sauce for the cream of mushroom soup and sour cream. I used the meat - about 3 cups - from two rotisserie chickens and it made for a very tasty dish. I also used more cheese than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I used left over turkey that I had smoked. My husband and his friends loved it. I also added a can of corn to mixature. I would make again. I don't like turkey, but tasted it and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I used a lot more turkey and cheese than called for and instead of using 2 cans of soup I used 1 10oz can of cream of mushroom/chicken soup and 10 oz of white corn and black bean salsa. It was yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
very quick and easy. feeds a lot of people easily. adding more turkey helps. yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I was a little confused as to what to do with the recipe. It wasn't quite clear whether the tortillas were supposed to be layered into the casserole. So, after reading the reviews of others I cut them into 1 inch pieces (for easier serving) and added them in the middle as well as on the bottom. I added 3 tbsps. of Trader Joe's Chipotle sauce to add a little zing AND used spicy Jack Cheese with the Cheddar Cheese. I probably used over 3 cups of chopped turkey. Kids and Dad ate it with salsa and went back for seconds. I will make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States