Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome turkey leftover meal, everyone liked it!!! Only change I made was using flour tortillas instead of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe to get me going on a spicier version. Well, I am also using up stuff in the cupboards :) I had 1 can cream of celery in place of the mushroom. Added 1 can diced water chestnuts. Instead of greeen chili peppers, I had a can of diced tomatoes w/some green chili peppers in them. So I drained off 1/2 of the 14.5 oz. can and put them into the sour cream mixture. No corn tortillas either, so I Pam-sprayed my 4 flour tortillas and toasted them in the oven awhile. Then when cooled, I tore them apart to put into the bottom of my glass baking dish. Then I put half the soup/cream mixture over them. Then about 1 1/2 cups chopped cooked turkey, then rest of soup. Cheddar cheese on top, and baked it covered till nearly done. Then took off foil and added crushed JALEPNO kettle-chips on top and baked till those got a little toasty. Soooo excellent and you don't even notice that you are eating TURKEY AGAIN!!! LOL. Enjoy it all you spice lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used some taco seasoning and ground turkey and added a can of black beans. Kids loved it. Made it the day before and it kept well overnight in the fridge. Easy and tasty. Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used healthy request cream of chicken and cream of celery soups, fiesta blend of shredded cheese, and served it with hot picante sauce. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made a few changes from some of the other reviewers I used a pack of taco mix, instead of the can of diced greem chili peppers I used fresh from a barrell of peppers I had had smoked and then tossed in a pinch of cayenne pepper and LOADS if cheese. These were a mega hit! everyone says they tasted just like chicken enchiladas...nice break from all that leftover turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissy754

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe and it was lacking substance and really soupy, the tortillas were half soggy (on the bottom) and half tough(the part that stuck out from the casserole) . Next time I try it I will add black beans, rice and some sort of vegetable possibly broccoli or corn and omit the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe is very similar to the Chicken Chipulos recipe, except that they use flour tortillas instead of corn and adds more cheese. It is easy to do but it is pretty bland as is. The second time I made this I doubled the green chilies, added some green tobasco, garlic and onion. I also mixed in some corn and black beans with the meat. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great tasty and simple recipe! I used leftover crushed Tortilla chips instead of tortillas. I also added a package of Taco seasoning and 1 ½ cup of milk to make up moisture for the drier Tortilla chips. I was looking for a tasty recipe to use those Tortilla chip crumbs and Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I made this last fall with leftover turkey and loved it! I did substitute Ro-tel for one of the soups but both my husband & my kids complained that it was too spicy. I am going to try it again with just tomatoes and green chiles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
this was pretty good i only used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and added green onions tooo on top under the cheese mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States