Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A friend used to make this and when I lost touch with her I lost the recipe. I used a 10oz can of chicken, some shredded pepper jack in addition to the cheddar and left out the chilies. It was excellent!!! I'm so happy to have this dish again and I plan to make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
My family really liked this recipe. I substituted flour tortillas, and it was just wonderful with the leftover turkey we had. It would be good with chickent, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I did what another reviewer said to do and put in jalapenos but I put in 4 oz. along with 4 oz. of green chilies. Needless to say, it was peppy. I would probably cut back on the jalapenos but not leave them out. Otherwise, I used corn tortillas and both cans of soup since I had to use a 9x13 pan. Are there 8x12's? It turned out fantastic. My husband had two helpings. So did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This is very similar to a recipe I make with ground beef, tomato soup, and salsa. I combined the ingredients (minus one can of soup)in a large skillet including the tortillas that I chopped into 1" squares. Put it all in a baking dish, topped with cheese and baked 20 min. My family likes this and I like that it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have turkey leftovers so used a box of the precooked diced chicken and substituted flour tortillas. We are big meat eaters and feel the recipe could double the amount called for. It was also quite saucy. Next time I will mix half the sauce with the chicken and make enchiladas. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Last year my fiance made this several hours before baking. This year I made it immediately before baking. I also used a 4 oz can of jalapenos instead of chilies for more kick. The texture of the tortillas is better if you let the sauce soak in for a while before baking. Makes turkey leftovers taste not so leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Wonderful way to use leftover turkey. I added some garlic and cumin, but my husband requested chopped onion and jalapenos or Tabasco to make it a little hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was good, but I only used one layer of tortilla strips, and I found it a little too liquid. Where the strips were doubled up I preferred the texture, but the tortillas did stay a bit dry. I like the idea of letting it sit overnight and then cooking it at dinner time. I bet it would be excellent with tortilla chips kinda crushed up in place of the plain corn tortillas. I also added a 4oz can of diced jalapenos for a little more of a kick. Flavor was great! You just can't beat sour cream and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This was pretty good. I substituted the corn tortillas with flour tortillas and would suggest adding jalapeno jack cheese instead of cheddar for some zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Four of us had it and we all adored it, though these four never agree on anything foodwise! Good sign! It was just enough and was delicious. As with most recipes, I think adding more veggies would make it even better, but it was absolutely AWESOME as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States