Southwestern Style Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
After reviewing all the comments I decided to try these for my Bunco night! What a hit! Thanks for sharing! And thanks for updating to agree the veggies should be cooked first! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
very good, definitely sautee veggies first. i also used a chorizo link chopped up instead of the bacon. 2 potato halves are more than enough for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These were the best! I didn't have any peppers, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Hi there. I'm Keri, the person who posted this recipe. I submitted as is due to the fact that I like raw vegetables but since this posting (2006) have found that it would be best to cook the onion and peppers first. Wonderful suggestion! My intention for the sour cream is to top the potato and is optional but it does taste great to add it into the potato mixture as well. I submitted the edits about 2 years ago, it takes a while for it to be processed. Also, use real bacon, not fake bacon pieces if you can. Thank for all of the nice reviews. I'm glad you all have enjoyed is as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I didn't like the raw onion in this. It didn't get cooked enough for our tastes. I omitted the bell peppers, but I can only assume that those remain crunchy too. Otherwise, I liked these. I used a little more sour cream than was recommended, and a little less milk -- because we prefer the flavor of sour cream. The texture was not compromised. This is easily customizable to your personal tastes. I suggest using kosher salt and oil on the outside of the potatoes during the baking stage, so that the skins are flavored too, so you can slice and eat the ENTIRE thing! Thanks for the recipe. P.S. I subtracted a star because the recipe doesn't tell you when to use the onion and sour cream. It's apparently been like that for at least 3 years now and no one has bothered to edit it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I followed the ingredients list but winged it on the amounts, just adding and stirring until it looked right to me. I used a dribble of buttermilk rather than the 1/2 cup milk, only because I had some to use. I sauteed the onions before I added them because they would only get heated for 15 minutes and I wanted them cooked. One jalapeno rather than two was friendlier to Hubs' sensitive innards. I used more butter and sour cream than called for and added some of the Cheddar and bacon (I used the real thing) to the potatoes rather than just sprinkling it over the top. The results were a real taste sensation, odd since there is no seasoning! The peppers and bacon not only make these potatoes colorful and festive, they add a zippiness of flavor. The recipe is very worthy of being repeated, but I will keep in mind that 2 c. of shredded cheese was way more than I needed, even after adding a good amount to the potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I thought these were really good. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut it back to 3 servings. In the future, the only change I will make is to add more butter/milk. The only change that I made was I did not cut my potatoes in half, I just hollowed the whole potato out, and then restuffed. They were really pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were delicious! I did saute the onions, pepper and jalapeno first. I do love raw veggies but wasn't in the mood for them today. Great flavor! Not sure where the sour cream was supposed to come in to play, so I just dalloped it on top when I was ready to eat it! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Help! Nobody told me what to do with the onion and sour cream! I mixed those 2 ingredients in with the rest, everything worked out. I used green onion for the onion and yellow peppers instead of gree. This took a little longer than 15 minutes to heat, but was really yummy when finished. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made these to go along with a southwestern flank steak and they were so yummy! I did cook the peppers and onions first before adding them to the potatoes as someone had suggested. I don't think I would've liked them raw. They were a huge hit and a new favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States