Southwestern Style Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good recipe, but I also made some additions/changes. I added a can of diced tomatoes as a previous reviewer mentioned. I also added a pint of home canned mixed peppers as I didn't have green chilies on hand. I added 2 TBSP low sodium Cajun seasoning, substituted one pound smoked sausage for the bacon, added about 1 1/2 cups torn chicken, and doubled the garlic. (We like things spicy ;). ) I soaked the beans overnight and did the rest on the stove. Thanks for a nutrition-packed meal, terrielyn! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and brought to a potluck for my church. Went over really well. I used chili flakes, cumin and oregano instead of chill powder and less bacon than what was called for. I also used green chili sauce instead of just the green chili peppers. Goes really well with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sluser

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and no one cared for it. I know it's not a repeat when my husband requests a PBJ for lunch instead of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was really good (wishing I had made corn bread right about now)! I used the quick-cook method (boiled beans for 1 hour then added rest of the ingredients & let simmer for 30 min). I added 1 lb cooked peppered bacon, some smoked sausage, and cumin. I was surprised that I needed to add salt - maybe I drained the bacon too much! This is nice & spicy... I think I might try adding some BBQ sauce or a little brown sugar to some of my leftovers just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUM! I know this passed the test when my hesitant husband completely polished off his bowl and went back for more. I didn't have any bacon, but I DID have some smoked sausage, made the switch, and it was great. I didn't cook the beans overnight, I just soaked them. Really easy and an awesome "cold weather meal" (words of the aforementioned hubby.) This will make an appearance on my dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
the best bean soiup ever! I substituted turkey polish sausage for the bacon for a lower fat version, and it turned out wonderfully! A hearty but healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We loved this recipe. I used ham rather than bacon and bell pepper rather than chilis. It was great. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbern, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was very easy and smelled divine. I rated this three stars because no one in my household liked it. I was the only one who ate it & I thought it was pretty good. It does make a lot so prepare to freeze some or feed a big crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Not that great. I was generous with the 3 stars, but since i did deviate a little I thought that would be fair. I used chicken stock instead of water, only about 6 slices of bacon (precooked), added about a half of a cooked chicken and added a can of RoTel tomatoes. It was just O.K. It had a different flavor that is hard to describe, somewhat earthy I would say. My husband wouldn't eat it, but I thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States