Southwestern Style Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
used canned beans and added to the mix last hour. added "mexican" canned tomatoes (chopped them up) and double the spices including a pinch of cinnamon. very good! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I enjoyed this reciped. Easy to make. I already had some frozen shredded pork in the freezeer so the hard part was over. It had a good flavor as well. Thanks will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Easy & great for quick company meal. I also tried it using 1 pound of cooked hot pork sausage instead of chicken and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I found that I had to add a lot more seasoning. I even added some garlic and onion powder.I will make again but not following the recipe excatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I gave it stars, though this is after my own changes... The beans didn't cook for me in the slow cooker the first time even after 9 hours. Next time, I soaked the beans overnight first, then cooked for 8 hours on high in the slow cooker with the pork, and I added a lot more of the spices, plus garlic, and 2 cans of Mexican style stewed tomatoes. Over corn chips with all the toppings was good, but it's also a great basic mexican filling for burritos, tacos, anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Skip the corn chips. Just go straight to the store and by some tortilla shells to ensure enjoyment of every morsel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Great recipe for a crowd. I used chicken breasts, chicken broth instead of water, added jalepenos, canned Mexican style tomatoes, cilantro and garlic. It was yummy and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This was OK, pretty difficult to eat on chips, we finally gave up and tried tortillas. I doubled the spices and it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This was ok. I think for us it was one of those recipes that is nice once but you probably wouldn't make again, I liked it much better than my hubby but he's terribly picky. I think this recipe is really good-just not to make over and over for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I added a few cloves of garlic and a can of tomato sauce and it was much tastier. Can be served in tortillas or on rice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States