Southwestern Style Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Good basic recipe, however, I added a ton more seasonings and some spicey roasted red pepper salsa to the meat mixture. The corn chip part didn't tempt me, so I fried flour tortillas in oil for about thirty seconds on each side, drained them on paper towels and then popped them into the oven to really crisp up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
used canned beans and added to the mix last hour. added "mexican" canned tomatoes (chopped them up) and double the spices including a pinch of cinnamon. very good! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I enjoyed this reciped. Easy to make. I already had some frozen shredded pork in the freezeer so the hard part was over. It had a good flavor as well. Thanks will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Easy & great for quick company meal. I also tried it using 1 pound of cooked hot pork sausage instead of chicken and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I found that I had to add a lot more seasoning. I even added some garlic and onion powder.I will make again but not following the recipe excatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I gave it stars, though this is after my own changes... The beans didn't cook for me in the slow cooker the first time even after 9 hours. Next time, I soaked the beans overnight first, then cooked for 8 hours on high in the slow cooker with the pork, and I added a lot more of the spices, plus garlic, and 2 cans of Mexican style stewed tomatoes. Over corn chips with all the toppings was good, but it's also a great basic mexican filling for burritos, tacos, anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Skip the corn chips. Just go straight to the store and by some tortilla shells to ensure enjoyment of every morsel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Great recipe for a crowd. I used chicken breasts, chicken broth instead of water, added jalepenos, canned Mexican style tomatoes, cilantro and garlic. It was yummy and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This was OK, pretty difficult to eat on chips, we finally gave up and tried tortillas. I doubled the spices and it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This was ok. I think for us it was one of those recipes that is nice once but you probably wouldn't make again, I liked it much better than my hubby but he's terribly picky. I think this recipe is really good-just not to make over and over for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States