Southwestern Style Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Delicious recipe! I used a 2-1/4 pound boneless pork roast, 1 29 ounce can pinto beans instead of dried (I may use 2 cans next time), 2 cans chopped chile peppers, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1+ teaspoon cumin, 1 teaspoon oregano, 2 Tablespoons minced garlic, 1 16 ounce Mexican tomatoes, 1 8 ounce can tomato sauce & 1 large onion choppped. I omitted the water & cooked all day in the crock pot, shredding the meat after a few hours. We ate this delicious dish in bowls like chili with shredded cheese & sour cream on the side to add on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I also followed others suggestions. I added two cans of green chiles, garlic, and used tortillas instead of corn chips. But I used venison instead of pork. It was delicious. My husband was a little leery at first, but really loved it. I also used powdered cumin instead of seed. I will make this again. It does make enough for an army so have lots of friends over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Pretty good, but it really needs some more seasoning. I would add more chili powder, garlic, and probably a can of mexican tomatoes, and maybe even another can of chile peppers. I don't like too much "kick", but it just needed a bit more. You might want to add some extra water, because mine was on the drier side. All in all, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have been making this for over 20 years. It is much more interesting, and tasty, if you offer the following to sprinkle on top of the chips and Chalupa (in a bowl): Shredded lettuce, diced tomato, chopped onion, sliced ripe olives, guacamole and shredded cheese. Topped with salsa it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I love this recipe. My Mom's been making it for years. We ate it over a tortilla that had been crisped on a skillet with cheese melted on it. NUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I thought this recipe was OK. It is easy to make, and makes a lot so you can stick some in the freezer. Plus, it's very adaptable, can be added to tacos, burritos, etc... But I thought the flavor was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I loved this recipe. I used tortillas instead of the chips. Next time I plan on adding some Spanish rice and guacamole to the tortilla. I too included garlic and I sliced up half an onion into large piece so I could remove after cooking. Beans and I do not get along so I used canned pinto beans the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This was not spicy enough for us. I ended up adding a lot more seasoning and a lot more chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Great recipe! Took to a work potluck and everyone loved it! I did add a little garlic that I saw on another version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Good basic recipe, however, I added a ton more seasonings and some spicey roasted red pepper salsa to the meat mixture. The corn chip part didn't tempt me, so I fried flour tortillas in oil for about thirty seconds on each side, drained them on paper towels and then popped them into the oven to really crisp up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States