Southwestern Style Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This version gets 3 stars. Using the complete advise of the reviewer "I'm not stupid I know things" it receives 5 stars (thanks for the advise!) My family likes a lot of flavor in their food and the additions to the original recipe make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Good recipe! I will definitely make it again...not often though b/c it makes a huge meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
We thought this was pretty good, though not as spicy as I would have preferred. I used half pinto beans and half black beans, which worked well. It was very easy, and I will definitely make again. I will probably season a little more heavily and might serve wrapped in tortillas instead of on chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I really wish I could give this meal 5 stars - the pork and bean mixture worked out really great for me, tender pork and well-cooked beans I use in bowls with rice and in burritos. But the "southwest" flavor is pretty non-existant. It really does not taste like anything but pork and beans, which is great but a lot of tweaking would be needed for this to have any kind of southwestern flavor. I know I'll be making this again and again (with flavor adjustments) so thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
**5 star potential** if the following changes are made (IMHO). I soaked the pinto beans overnight, then drain well. In a large pot, I added 4 lb. pork butt, 7 cups water, 1 chopped onion, 3 garlic cloves minced, 2 heaping tablespoons chili powder, 3 heaping teaspoons ground cumin, 1 heaping tablespoon SMOKED PAPRIKA (that's the secret ingredient), 1 tablespoon coarse sea salt, 1 teaspoon dried oregano & one 4 oz. can chopped green chilies. Bring it to a boil; reduce heat & simmer covered for 3 hours. Remove pork & cool enough to handle. Shred meat with fork. Return meat to pot & cook uncovered until thick, about 30 minutes. Serve it over corn chips with shredded lettuce, minced green onions, salsa, shredded monterey jack & sharp cheddar cheeses, & avocado cubes. Beautiful! The entire family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I found this in the Allrecipes Cookbook and read all the reviews online before making it. I did the following: soaked my beans overnight, added 3 TBS chili powder, 2 TBS ground cumin, several shakes of Adobo seasoning, 5 cloves garlic, 2 cans of diced green chiles and fresh ground pepper, along with my appx. 4# pork loin roast. I also added 2 chicken bouillon cubes with my 1 quart water. Cooked on low for most of the day, shredded my pork loin roast (it mostly just fell apart) then added it back to simmer until dinner. My 10 year old could not stop eating it!! My bean-hating 8 year old even loved it! Very tastey - a cross between a mexican shredded pork dish and chile. Will definitely make this again - it makes a LOT!! Great for a crowd!! I set out a myriad of accompianments to choose from - brown rice, white and wheat tortillas, tortilla chips, lettuce, tomatoes, shredded cheese, sour cream and guacomole - everyone did theirs a little bit different!!! Thanks for a great new pork (and crock pot) recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have made this several times and I can only say...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Excellant recipe, my family LOVES it and I serve it for large get togethers. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This recipe was okay. The meat is very very tender, but it just needs more seasoning! I don't like spicy things at all, but this was incredibly bland! I even added 2 chopped onions and garlic--but I think I would have doubled or tripled the spices. Next time I may try it without the beans because maybe they diluted the seasonings--a good base to work from, but definitely needs some improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States