Southwestern Style Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made adjustments according to my family's tastes. I used Cumin instead of Cumin seed and I added 1 large finely chopped onion and 3 minced garlic cloves. I also increased the chopped green chilies to 2 cans and the chili powder to 3 Tablespoons. I omitted the salt altogether. After it's prepared abd ready to serve on a bed of corn chips, top with shredded sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream, diced green onions, diced tomatoes and fresh diced avocado. This meal is one of my family's favorite meals and a request for special occasions. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Blackburn Alldredge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was just...nasty. Sorry, that's the nicest thing I could say about it. I ended up making us lunchmeat sandwiche. And I apologized to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I thought this was very good! I used a 2 lb pork loin and 2 cans pinto beans with liquid and 1 1/2c water. Cooked on high all day and the beans held up great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I added a small can of tomato sauce, 4 T Chili Powder and garlic. (1 pound pinto beans-3 cups and 1 quart water = 4 cups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I liked this! The only thing missing was a little more spice. Next time, I'm going to double the green chili. I went ahead and fried my own chips and that made this super tasty. Thanks for the recipe! Even my picky roommate ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I found the recipe to be very tasteless. It was quite a disappointment after an 8 hour wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
As a base recipe, we liked this. Since it made so much, we had enough left over to eat 2 more dinners, and liked the flavor better after the first day. We used it as a burrito filling, rather than eating it over chips, but to do that, you have to drain the juice off the spoon pretty well. I asked my husband to heat some corn to serve with this, and he thought I meant to dump it in. It was good that way, and gave us the idea that adding hominy would be good, too. When we make this again, we will be adding some Hatch green chile (we like things a little spicier), and maybe some onion and garlic. We might soak the beans overnight first, too, as ours turned out a little more al dente than we like (and it helps eliminate some of the gas-producing effects...). My 16-year old liked it well enough to ask for the recipe so he could make it for his grandpa when he visits next summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very delicious. I didn't do the chips. I put into flour tortillas and rolled them up and had all the fixings to go along with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
SOOOOOOOO 5 stars with the suggestions from "I'm Not Stupid, I Know Tings". I used canned beans- about 6 cups of water, and cooked this in the crock pot. It was AWESOME!!! I can't wait to eat it again tomorrow! Btw, the chili powder I used was from New Mexico- chamayotogo.com- do yourself a favor and get the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This version gets 3 stars. Using the complete advise of the reviewer "I'm not stupid I know things" it receives 5 stars (thanks for the advise!) My family likes a lot of flavor in their food and the additions to the original recipe make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States