Southwestern Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars after having made a few alterations. First, I left out the tomatoes, cilantro, and red wine vinegar simply because I didn't have any on hand. I then used both green and red bell peppers (good for the flavor and the color), some chili powder (to taste), and added some frozen corn that I had left over. Having cooked these ingredients on the stove top, as well as the garlic, black beans, and olive oil from the recipe, I mixed it all together with the squash. To finish, I topped it off with my favorite salsa (Southwest Salsa from Safeway). In the end, it was pretty dang good. Definitely not bland, as it has been called in other reviews, but I think this was largely due to my alterations - the salsa is what really helped I think. My wife also added sour cream, which she claims was another great addition (I'm not a fan of sour cream, so no comment from me). Really, the only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 in the end is that the texture was a bit "mushy" which detracted slightly from the overall experience. We ate it as a meal in and of itself, but it would go along great as a side to many Southwestern/Mexican/Spanish inspired dishes. I think I might try the leftovers in a tortilla with some cheese tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Z.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Interesting. I substituted kidney beans for black beans, mushrooms for green pepper and didn't have enough tomatoes, but I still feel this could have used something else. It was very tasty with lime juice added after serving though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I actually used this as a guidline and changed it to fit what I had in the house. I used celery, tomatoes,a yellow pepper, a garlic & black pepper spice I had, parsely for color and then I used a "Rasberry Bliss", spray, salad dressing.I also added pecans! This was really good, I actually enjoyed eating spaghetti squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmooge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used mexican stewed tomatoes and roasted some anahiem chiles instead of green bell pepper and used 10 oz of montery jack cheese half on top and half mixed in and minus the red wine vinager, and it was excellent. trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Good recipe. My 4 year old loved it (but then she loves most veggies including brussel sprouts). I didn't quite follow the baking instructions on this recipe, instead baked it at 350 F for 40 minutes on an uncovered, greased baking tray. I didn't have black beans, so substituted with dark kidney beans. Also,I used roasted red pepper , and balsamic vinegar instead of red wine. My family and I loved the dish. This is a great base recipe and forgives omissions and substitutions - perfect for the everyday home cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious flavor and texture combination. I also added 1 roasted poblano and used 1 can of Rotel instead of fresh tomatoes. YUM! I ate all the leftovers myself, before anyone else could get to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
When I finished making the recipe I had some doubts about my children (ages 4-12) liking it. I added a little cheese and popped it in the oven for ten min. or so to melt the cheese. They all loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was good on it's own, but even better when served with grilled andouille sausage. I cheated and cooked the squash in the microwave: pierce a few times with a sharp knife, cook on high heat in microwave on a plate for 7 minutes, turn over, cook for 7 more minutes, let rest for 10 minutes, halve squash lengthwise, remove seeds, pull squash out with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was pretty good. Something different if your bored of traditional squash recipes. I added chicken to make it a complete meal. I think it would have been good with a couple of hot peppers added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I like all of the ingredients in this recipe and gave it a try. It was a little bland. I also garnished it with sour cream. Next time I will add more Mexican seasoning and I'm sure it will be great. It is a very attractive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States