Southwestern Roasted Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe was pretty good...even my son liked it! I did make a few adjustments: I only used 1/2 a red onion and that was plenty. I added a can of black beans. The sauce seemed a little bland, so I added more hot sauce, a splash of cider vinegar, a dash of taco seasoning (I already had it out for another recipe) and some cumin. It was a hit! :) A tip for de kerneling the cob: use a large bowl and a small bowl. Turn the small bowl upside down and put it inside the large bowl. Stand the ear of corn up on the upside down bowl and run your knife down along the edge of the cob. All of the kernels will fall into the bigger bowl, instead of all over your counter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This recipe was delicious and so easy! The only change I made was to use frozen corn instead of fresh, and I grilled it on my George Foreman grill. Turned out fantastic with much less work :) The cilantro dressing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This was a GREAT recipe! I'm not big on green peppers - so I added chopped tomato and avocado. I served it as a salsa with homemade tortilla chips. You could add just about any vegetable that you like. Everyone loved it! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe was time consuming and just plain in taste. I have other recipes with black beans and corn that require so little time and are big on taste. Save the time and expense of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I made this exactly as the recipe suggests and found it a bit bland. I added about 3/4 ts of cumin and used about 1 ts of sriracha hot chile sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great salad, the dressing is perfect. I used a bag of frozen corn that I thawed vs. fresh to save on time. Other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very tangy - and colourful, too! I make this as a salad with a base of arugula and baby endive, using the bell peppers, onion, and corn as more of a garnish. Yellow bell pepper is a great addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Hubby made this last night. He used canned corn but no other changes and it is delicious. Very fresh and crunchy! And colorful presentation. Would love to try it with the roasted corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I gave it 5 stars because I could eat the whole bowl for dinner. My husband said it was better after it sat for an hour or so and I have to agree. I added an avacado and more hot sauce. Next time I'll add finely minced Jalapino. Pretty time consuming so I don't know how often I'll make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe and a nice alternative to the usual summer salads. I used frozen corn and sauteed in until some of the kernels started to turn brown to try and get a roasted look and taste. I also left out the cilantro as my Mom does not like it. It was a big hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldred, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States