Southwestern Roasted Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Tastes great, made it 3 times now, and have been asked for the recipe at least once each time, 3 times yesterday. I use 10 ears of fresh corn, cut off the kernels and brown them just a touch in a little olive oil, then follow the recipe from there. Some may find it a little spicy and may want to cut the hot sauce a little, but try it as is first. I think the sauce helps bring out some of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great salad, the dressing is perfect. I used a bag of frozen corn that I thawed vs. fresh to save on time. Other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I wanted something different to take to our boat club picnic and this fit the bill. I especially loved that it did not have mayo so I did not need to worry about the heat. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! Instead of fresh corn I used one bag of thawed Birds Eye frozen Baby White Corn. It was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this for a block party and it was gone fast! I love the freshness of the veggies and cilantro. I will definitely make this again. I added fresh cut cherry tomatos and it was delicious! My husband couldn't keep out of it long enough to get it to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavenQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This salad had a really great blend of flavors - very fresh and yummy. I made the mistake of serving it just a few hours after putting the dressing on. It was very limey and although good not quite perfect. However, after letting it set overnight it was absolutely fabulous. The lime flavor mellowed and was really, really good. I would make this one day before serving when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Such a fresh flavor! I love the cilantro lime dressing. I cheated and used frozen corn (not quite sweet corn season yet). I just cooked the corn in a little water, let it cool, then tossed with the other ingredients. It's best if you make ahead of time to let the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I often make a salad like this in the summer. Especially when there's left over grilled corn. Omit the sugar if using sweet corn and it's fresh. Sometimes we add a can of cumin flavored black beans too. But this salad is GREAT as it is (minus sugar.) Great, fresh flavor. We give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
not that good. The recipe seems to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is worth a try! I had some limes and cilantro to use up and came accross this recipe. I served it as a side with steak (not really mexican but they worked VERY well together). I sauteed all of the vegies together so they were cooked then added the sauce to it. For the hot sauce, I used some stuff we got on a vacation in St. Lucia and it is VERY HOT! 1 tblsp made this a very hot dish! The sauce has a sweet, hot mustard taste and complimented this dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States