Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese with Adobo Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe is awful. Save your money and make/buy something else. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Ugh. This mac and cheese was not delicious at all. The adobo powder was just not a good taste. Who puts fat free cottage cheese chunks in macaroni and cheese? Apparently I do, and I deeply regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this for my husband and kids. I usually make plain macaroni and cheese, so I thought I'd try a new recipe to shake things up a bit. I made no changes to the recipe and made it exactly as written. My teenagers did not like this whatsoever, and they are open to new things. I'm a very good cook, and I do not think it was my error. When I was making this, I thought the choices for the cheeses were a bit weird. I learned from TV that you should never use fat-free cheeses because they will alter the final product negatively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
So you all don't waste your money on ingredients: Do not use fat free cottage cheese. Do not use light sour cream. Use the real deal guys! I made this thinking that it was tried and true because of the video..I thought maybe the white unmelted chunks were due to a short episode segment; I was wrong. They stay unmelted and it feels like soft plastic. Also, use full fat ground beef. I probably will not make this exact recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I should've read the reviews before making this! The cheese chunks were not very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Nice change of pace for Macaroni and Cheese, I could not find powdered Jalapeno pepper, so I used 2 tablespoons of jarred mince jalapeno. If you don't like spicy foods, you could just omit them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The meatballs need help, so season them however you'd like. I was excited to try this recipe honestly. I was a little skeptical of the fat free cottage cheese and the light sour cream. I highly advice all of you to not use the fat free cottage cheese because the mouth feel is unpleasant. What's the logic behind using light sour cream and fat free cottage cheese if you've got other high fat ingredients? Just go for the gold and make a good recipe for Pete's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Disappointing! I wish I read the reviews first before I made this dish, I bet it would've saved the flavors and textures. The fat free cottage cheese was a bad idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
mac n cheese was ok but the meatballs were missing some flavor! dont know if i will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thought that the fat-free cottage cheese wasn't exactly the most fun of textures in my opinion. The kids hated it the chunks of rubbery cheese. The problem with fat free cottage cheese is that it can be rubbery and not appetizing whatsoever. What I do suggest though, however, is use 2% ricotta cheese. Use fresh chilis instead of canned, and use real garlic cloves as opposed to garlic powder. I would never make this recipe again to the T like I did prior, but I would make it to where it was not the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krizia

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States