Southwestern Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Quick and easy salad! I used olive oil instead of vegetable and the dressing could use a pinch of sugar. Healthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Crumble a little feta cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a very good salad! I halved it and got 6 servings-so it makes a lot! I used brown lentils, frozen and thawed corn, some red and green peppers, olive oil instead of vegetable oil (but only half of what was recommended!), and a bit more garlic and cilantro. The flavors really mixed in the fridge and it was colorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
OK, but not what I was anticipating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Halved the recipe. Used a mix of pre-diced carrots, green pepper, celery and yellow onion instead of simply green pepper and red onion. Opted to use EVOO instead of veggie oil (as I tend to do for dressings). Mixed things up by using a can of salad beans instead of only black beans. Nice lunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good. Sometimes I add some pasta such as bowtie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I followed this recipe as written and no one cared for it. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Way better than I thought it would be! The Dijon mustard threw me off but honestly this is delicious! I only used one can of black beans and 2 Tbs. olive oil. That was more than enough. I also cut the cider vinegar to about 1/4 cup. We ate this right away but I had it for lunch the next day and it was even better after it had chilled in the fridge. For best taste let it chill for up to 2 hours. Also, I tried the sauce with regular white vinegar and it didn't taste good. For anyone wondering if you can substitute I suggest just buying the cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Love this recipe! I make it as written EXCEPT I add no oil at all. Doesn't need and I don't need all those calories. It's been a hit with everyone who's tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States