Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Simple, easy and good. I used chili beans and rotel for subsitutes and added some onion and garlic to the meat while cooking it. Would make again for a quick dinner night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is an awesome recepie. I've made these before reading it, but we usually use chips instead of the noodles. i also set everthing apart so ppl can build their own. it makes a great pot luck meal. u can easily make it vegetarian by subst. vegie burger crumbles with taco seasoning for the burger. chili beans r also good, mexi corn, salsa, green chilis. this is usually my go to meal when i'm runing low on staples, bc anything works really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I left out the corn and added more ground beef and beans. I substitued maccaroni for broken natcho chips. I also used fresh tomatoes and a package of taco seasoning instead of the garlic........came out better than the first time when I followed the recipe exactly. Just some ideas for substitutions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this came out really disappointing for us. I would not make it again. we did use a different kind of noodles but I dont think it would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This recipe wasn't bad. This is the type of stuff I cook when I'm down to the bare essentials in my pantry and need to go grocery shopping. It's the only time I would cook this. I added a can of green chilies, cumin, and chilli powder. Not my husband'S favorite type of meal, but he ate this and didn't complain. I think it's a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was good for a quick easy meal, and tasted a lot like an old stand-by my mom used to make. I used Italian-style stewed tomatoes which added some extra flavor, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I've made it several times and played with the seasonings. The best I've come up with yet is to add a packet of taco seasoning to replace the salt, pepper, and part of the garlic powder. Really good. With that change I'm upgrading this recipe from three to four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I appreciated the suggestions of reviewers. Here's what I did: used a whole chopped onion and 2 large cloves of minced garlic which cooked while browning the meat; used drained great northern beans (that's what I had) along with the diced tomatoes and corn, sprinkled very generously with sea salt, pepper and chili powder, let that simmer for about 5 minutes, then added about 1/2 pound of cooked elbow macaroni. Finally added 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar but no sour cream. It made a lot so I don't have to cook tomorrow night. This is fast and very tasty. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We all liked it, very quick. It was not out of this world. But for speed this sure did the trick for a budget friendly fast meal. I may try it again and spice it up a bit. Thanks for fast/good receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I would've given this recipe 4 1/2 stars, but gave 5 instead to up the rating on this yummy meal. It was super easy, super quick, and tasty. I added 1 onion to the meat. Seasoned with worceshtire sauce, tabasco, chilli powder, cumin, and cayenne in addition to the already called for spices. I then added 1/2 jar salsa to the mixture because I wanted it a bit more saucy. I am not a kidney bean fan, but this was delicious. The cheese and sour cream are a must - even for my husband who isn't big on either of them. The whole family loved it, and we will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States