Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe especially with tomatoes fresh from the garden. I found that the beans should be drained. A little extra garlic powder and some chile powder really added a lot of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
Family liked it, just as easy to layer it all in a dish, rather than make stacks. Browned a chopped medium white onion along with the ground beef. This is a recipe that just seemed to need onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
This recipe is easily modified to suit your mood or tastes. Following the other reviewers' suggestions, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices the recipe calls for. I also added onion and some chopped red pepper to the meat while browning. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and a can of black beans, drained and rinsed, instead of the red. I thought it could use some color, so I then added some chopped green pepper I had in my freezer. Finally, I served it over white rice instead of macaroni. My husband wrapped his in a tortilla and ate it that way. Overall this is a great, versatile recipe. Thanks, Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
The second time I made the recipe I tried it a little different. Added the Onion and taco seasoning a little tomato sauce and instead of plain diced tomatos I used salsa for added ZIP. then poured it over rice instead of pasta. WAS AWESOME!! Even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
NOt good for low carb diets. BUt my husband loved it. I made it as a casserole topped with cheese.I also added the taco seasonings as others had suggesteed. I will definateley recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I fixed this for a covered dish supper our church group had, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This is one of the EASIEST, and tastiest, meals I make. It's not exactly gourmet, but it can be put together quickly and makes the whole family happy!!! (I have also made it with chopped leftover ham in place of the hamburger.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe was great! I followed the directions except that I substituted a smaller can of corn. I also added a little extra cheese. The sour cream gave it a tangy flavor that my family loved. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States